Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Australia
Reload this Page >

When to start looking for jobs

When to start looking for jobs

Old Jul 28th 2004, 2:59 pm
Arriving in GC 12th Jan

elksa will become famous soon enoughelksa will become famous soon enough
Default When to start looking for jobs

I'm probably a good 6 months away from moving to Aus at present, but I was wondering when you should really start looking for jobs.

I'm a systems analyst / programmer and will be heading for the Gold Coast / Brisbane sometime early to mid next year when my visa is hopefullly granted.

When do you think I should start looking for work? Do most people wait until they get to Aus or do you start looking and applying for jobs whilst still in the UK? I'd be interested in finding out some other peoples experiences? I think I'll register with a recruitment agency but when should I do this? I'm applying for a skilled Ind visa (136)

Has anyone entering Aus with this type of visa successfully managed to gain employment in Aus before actually arriving?
Old Jul 28th 2004, 3:41 pm
Gone Senile Member

Sandra has a reputation beyond reputeSandra has a reputation beyond reputeSandra has a reputation beyond reputeSandra has a reputation beyond reputeSandra has a reputation beyond reputeSandra has a reputation beyond reputeSandra has a reputation beyond reputeSandra has a reputation beyond reputeSandra has a reputation beyond reputeSandra has a reputation beyond reputeSandra has a reputation beyond repute

Apply when the opportunity arises!

I didn't think about my employer when I was in the process of applying to emigrate then for various reason I decided to tell them and they came up with a job transfer! I also was trying all aspects of my job in the consulting world and only possibly cause of my skills (PeopleSoft) had a favourable response - eg look us up when you get over.