Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Australia
Reload this Page >

Unlocked UK Orange mobiles in Oz

Unlocked UK Orange mobiles in Oz

Old Sep 15th 2002, 8:02 am
  #1  
Just Joined
Thread Starter
 
Joined: Sep 2002
Location: Sydney, NSW
Posts: 23
Jonothan is an unknown quantity at this point
Question Unlocked UK Orange mobiles in Oz

I know that UK Orange mobiles are locked to the UK network and won't work with Oz SIMs without being unlocked. I can get a single band UK Orange phone unlocked for about £10 so it will then work with both UK GSM1800 services (Orange & T-Mobile fka One-2-One but not the GSM900 Vodafone or O2 fka BT Cellnet as its single band).

Can any one tell me if it will then work on Oz Orange (is Oz Orange GSM1800?).

Can anyone tell me which Oz mobile operators (Optus, Orange, Telstra, Vodafone) work with the GSM1800 frequency band?

Cheers

Jono
Jonothan is offline  
Old Sep 15th 2002, 10:26 am
  #2  
Klaus
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Unlocked UK Orange mobiles in Oz

Hi Jono,
no ORANGE here in Australia is different exept of the brand name.
They do not use GSM instead they operate a CDMA Network and this is not
compatible.
There are enough GSM operators here VODAPHONE, OPTUS and Telstra and a whole
bunch of
resalers ..
If your phone is unblocked you can use any SIM Card in it, but you need to
know if your phone is by technical specification a DUAL Band, old GSM is
990MHz the newers have also the 1800MHz band available.

I just would bring my phone here and insert a prepaid card decide later for
a Plan or not and if you happy with the choosen operator..

Klaus
"Jonothan" <[email protected]> wrote in message
news:[email protected]
.com
...
    > I know that UK Orange mobiles are locked to the UK network and won't
    > work with Oz SIMs without being unlocked. I can get a single band UK
    > Orange phone unlocked for about £10 so it will then work with both UK
    > GSM1800 services (Orange & T-Mobile fka One-2-One but not the GSM900
    > Vodafone or O2 fka BT Cellnet as its single band).
    > Can any one tell me if it will then work on Oz Orange (is Oz Orange
    > GSM1800?).
    > Can anyone tell me which Oz mobile operators (Optus, Orange, Telstra,
    > Vodafone) work with the GSM1800 frequency band?
    > Cheers
    > Jono
    > --
    > Posted via http://britishexpats.com
 
Old Sep 15th 2002, 10:27 am
  #3  
No Spam
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Unlocked UK Orange mobiles in Oz

Hi Jonothan

There are no MAJOR 1800GSM networks. You may find the odd 1800 access point
but this will only be in the Major cities and were operators want to free up
the GSM900 capacity. The major ones here are 900 GSM or CDMA. Your single
band mobile phones won't be any use out here. There was one major 1800
provider, ONE.TEL but they went belly up.

If you have single band GSM, your phone must be pritty old now. Time for an
upgrade I think

I recommend getting a pre-paid mobile phone one your come here. These
phones will cost you about AU$50 - AU$100.

Kieron

"Jonothan" <[email protected]> wrote in message
news:[email protected]
.com
...
    > I know that UK Orange mobiles are locked to the UK network and won't
    > work with Oz SIMs without being unlocked. I can get a single band UK
    > Orange phone unlocked for about £10 so it will then work with both UK
    > GSM1800 services (Orange & T-Mobile fka One-2-One but not the GSM900
    > Vodafone or O2 fka BT Cellnet as its single band).
    > Can any one tell me if it will then work on Oz Orange (is Oz Orange
    > GSM1800?).
    > Can anyone tell me which Oz mobile operators (Optus, Orange, Telstra,
    > Vodafone) work with the GSM1800 frequency band?
    > Cheers
    > Jono
    > --
    > Posted via http://britishexpats.com
 
Old Sep 15th 2002, 11:05 pm
  #4  
Rohan Jackson
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Unlocked UK Orange mobiles in Oz

I believe all the GSM networks run on both 900 and 1800 in the major
capitals, but on the highways they are 900 GSM, as there is low traffic out
there.

"Jonothan" <[email protected]> wrote in message
news:[email protected]
.com
...
    > I know that UK Orange mobiles are locked to the UK network and won't
    > work with Oz SIMs without being unlocked. I can get a single band UK
    > Orange phone unlocked for about £10 so it will then work with both UK
    > GSM1800 services (Orange & T-Mobile fka One-2-One but not the GSM900
    > Vodafone or O2 fka BT Cellnet as its single band).
    > Can any one tell me if it will then work on Oz Orange (is Oz Orange
    > GSM1800?).
    > Can anyone tell me which Oz mobile operators (Optus, Orange, Telstra,
    > Vodafone) work with the GSM1800 frequency band?
    > Cheers
    > Jono
    > --
    > Posted via http://britishexpats.com
 
Old Sep 15th 2002, 11:49 pm
  #5  
BE Enthusiast
 
shorrock's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2002
Posts: 359
shorrock is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Unlocked UK Orange mobiles in Oz

Originally posted by Rohan Jackson:
I believe all the GSM networks run on both 900 and 1800 in the major
capitals, but on the highways they are 900 GSM, as there is low traffic out
there.

"Jonothan" <[email protected]> wrote in message
news:[email protected]
.com
...
    > I know that UK Orange mobiles are locked to the UK network and won't
    > work with Oz SIMs without being unlocked. I can get a single band UK
    > Orange phone unlocked for about £10 so it will then work with both UK
    > GSM1800 services (Orange & T-Mobile fka One-2-One but not the GSM900
    > Vodafone or O2 fka BT Cellnet as its single band).
    > Can any one tell me if it will then work on Oz Orange (is Oz Orange
    > GSM1800?).
    > Can anyone tell me which Oz mobile operators (Optus, Orange, Telstra,
    > Vodafone) work with the GSM1800 frequency band?
    > Cheers
    > Jono
    > --
    > Posted via http://britishexpats.com
This only partly true.

Telstra is the only telco that has a license to transmit on 1800gsm. Vodafone and Optus do not have a license to operate a 1800 network.

Also Telstra only have a small number of 1800 masts in the major city. so you may find that you could be out of coverage of the 1800 network while in the city.

I strongly recommend that you either get a dual band mobile phone or buy a single band gsm 900

You also do not need to unlock your phone if you want to move your sim from one phone to another. Unless the other phone has sim locking and in that case you will need the security pin that came with the phone to allow the sim to work in the second phone.

Kieron

Kieron
shorrock is offline  
Old Sep 15th 2002, 11:57 pm
  #6  
BE Enthusiast
 
shorrock's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2002
Posts: 359
shorrock is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Unlocked UK Orange mobiles in Oz

Originally posted by Klaus:
Hi Jono,
no ORANGE here in Australia is different exept of the brand name.
They do not use GSM instead they operate a CDMA Network and this is not
compatible.
There are enough GSM operators here VODAPHONE, OPTUS and Telstra and a whole
bunch of
resalers ..
If your phone is unblocked you can use any SIM Card in it, but you need to
know if your phone is by technical specification a DUAL Band, old GSM is
990MHz the newers have also the 1800MHz band available.

I just would bring my phone here and insert a prepaid card decide later for
a Plan or not and if you happy with the choosen operator..

Klaus
"Jonothan" <[email protected]> wrote in message
news:[email protected]
.com
...
    > I know that UK Orange mobiles are locked to the UK network and won't
    > work with Oz SIMs without being unlocked. I can get a single band UK
    > Orange phone unlocked for about £10 so it will then work with both UK
    > GSM1800 services (Orange & T-Mobile fka One-2-One but not the GSM900
    > Vodafone or O2 fka BT Cellnet as its single band).
    > Can any one tell me if it will then work on Oz Orange (is Oz Orange
    > GSM1800?).
    > Can anyone tell me which Oz mobile operators (Optus, Orange, Telstra,
    > Vodafone) work with the GSM1800 frequency band?
    > Cheers
    > Jono
    > --
    > Posted via http://britishexpats.com
Hi Klaus

Just to correct you. It's GSM 900 & PCN 1800. There is no GSM 990, unless it's a thing from the USA (not that I'm saying your from the USA). The USA work on a completly different type of network. However they have seen the light and are now changing there mobile phone system to eGSM 900 (the e is for enhanced), which is backwards compatible wit GSM900. Current Dual phone (except for a bosh mobile phone) will not work in the USA. However new TRI band phones are on the market and will work on most networks (except CDMA).

GSM 900 is the most used network type for mobile phones in the world.

PCN 1800 gives you a better line quality, but you need more base stations.

and CDMA gives you the best voice quality.

Not sure about G3 but I think this will give even better quality.

Sorry to go off topic (Aus&NZ Migration)

Kieron
shorrock is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.