Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Australia
Reload this Page >

Trying to get into Australia - what do you think?

Trying to get into Australia - what do you think?

Old Mar 17th 2005, 2:28 pm
Forum Regular

stu_69 is on a distinguished road
Default Trying to get into Australia - what do you think?

Hello all - I hope this is the correct place to ask this?

I hope everyone is well. Anyway straight into my question.

Myself and my wife met while travelling in Australia on working Holiday visa 3 years ago. We have been back in the UK for 3 years now and we have wanted to go back to Australia since day one but we have hit a wall ever since. She is 31 and I am 25 if we went down the PR route she will be 10 points short with the new increase (she is a qualified journalist with 5 years experience). I have 130 points but I work in Network support with 6 years experience but no qualifications (I am completely self taught or on the job training) so I would not get through the screening. I am going to do the CCNA exams in a few months but again I don't this would be enough. In 2 years time I would qualify for RPL but the only problem is 2 of the companies I worked for early in my career have gone bust and no longer exist. So that's our situation at the moment.

We have been looking at various routes back into Australia for the past 3 years but have got nowhere. We contemplated going over on a tourist visa and were going to try getting work and get sponsored by a company or agency (I understand this has all changed since I was last over there) but we figured this would be too risky so abandoned the idea. We also taught about moving to NZ and eventually moving over the Oz after a few years but we could not bring ourselves to move to a country we have never been to on the off chance it might get us into Australia.