Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Australia
Reload this Page >

TFN and Medicare

TFN and Medicare

Old Jan 14th 2009, 8:47 pm
  #1  
Forum Regular
Thread Starter
 
joquin's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2008
Location: Atwell,WA
Posts: 45
joquin is just really nicejoquin is just really nicejoquin is just really nicejoquin is just really nicejoquin is just really nicejoquin is just really nicejoquin is just really nicejoquin is just really nice
Default TFN and Medicare

I lived in Australia for a year (2007) and had medicare and a tax file number
I have now been granted a spouse visa and will be returning to Oz next week
My question is this.

Do i need to apply for a new Tax file number and Medicare card when i arrive.

Hope someone knows the answer

Thanks
joquin is offline  
Old Jan 14th 2009, 8:54 pm
  #2  
BE Enthusiast
 
DEEDEE01's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2007
Location: In A Much Happier Place Now !!
Posts: 652
DEEDEE01 has much to be proud ofDEEDEE01 has much to be proud ofDEEDEE01 has much to be proud ofDEEDEE01 has much to be proud ofDEEDEE01 has much to be proud ofDEEDEE01 has much to be proud ofDEEDEE01 has much to be proud ofDEEDEE01 has much to be proud ofDEEDEE01 has much to be proud ofDEEDEE01 has much to be proud ofDEEDEE01 has much to be proud of
Default Re: TFN and Medicare

Originally Posted by joquin View Post
I lived in Australia for a year (2007) and had medicare and a tax file number
I have now been granted a spouse visa and will be returning to Oz next week
My question is this.

Do i need to apply for a new Tax file number and Medicare card when i arrive.

Hope someone knows the answer

Thanks
Hiya,

You don't need another TFN, you will have this one for life. Not sure on the medicare sorry.

Donna.x
DEEDEE01 is offline  
Old Jan 15th 2009, 1:35 am
  #3  
Prisoner of Her Majesty
 
Pollyana's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2002
Location: Keep true friends and puppets close, trust no-one else...
Posts: 92,797
Pollyana has a reputation beyond reputePollyana has a reputation beyond reputePollyana has a reputation beyond reputePollyana has a reputation beyond reputePollyana has a reputation beyond reputePollyana has a reputation beyond reputePollyana has a reputation beyond reputePollyana has a reputation beyond reputePollyana has a reputation beyond reputePollyana has a reputation beyond reputePollyana has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: TFN and Medicare

Originally Posted by joquin View Post
I lived in Australia for a year (2007) and had medicare and a tax file number
I have now been granted a spouse visa and will be returning to Oz next week
My question is this.

Do i need to apply for a new Tax file number and Medicare card when i arrive.

Hope someone knows the answer

Thanks
You apply for Medicare when you get here - take your passport into the local Medicare office, but leave it a week or so as sometimes their computers don't catch up with your details at once.
Pollyana is offline  
Old Jan 15th 2009, 2:37 am
  #4  
BE Enthusiast
 
RCoight's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2007
Posts: 340
RCoight has much to be proud ofRCoight has much to be proud ofRCoight has much to be proud ofRCoight has much to be proud ofRCoight has much to be proud ofRCoight has much to be proud ofRCoight has much to be proud ofRCoight has much to be proud ofRCoight has much to be proud ofRCoight has much to be proud ofRCoight has much to be proud of
Default Re: TFN and Medicare

In very similar circumstances to yours I kept my old TFN and Medicare number. Both took approx 3 mins each to sort out (of which 2 mins 30 secs was queuing) in the respective offices.
The Medicare office gave me a little computer printout rather like an ATM receipt until the card itself came through about a week later.
RCoight is offline  
Old Jan 15th 2009, 9:29 am
  #5  
Forum Regular
 
Joined: Jan 2009
Location: Gold Coast
Posts: 90
movingaway is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: TFN and Medicare

Can anyone tell me if I had a TFN 20 years ago whilst over on a WHV, would they still have a record of that - I clearly don't!

Thanks
movingaway is offline  
Old Jan 15th 2009, 10:05 am
  #6  
Crazy Cat Lady
 
moneypenny20's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2004
Posts: 64,939
moneypenny20 has a reputation beyond reputemoneypenny20 has a reputation beyond reputemoneypenny20 has a reputation beyond reputemoneypenny20 has a reputation beyond reputemoneypenny20 has a reputation beyond reputemoneypenny20 has a reputation beyond reputemoneypenny20 has a reputation beyond reputemoneypenny20 has a reputation beyond reputemoneypenny20 has a reputation beyond reputemoneypenny20 has a reputation beyond reputemoneypenny20 has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: TFN and Medicare

Originally Posted by movingaway View Post
Can anyone tell me if I had a TFN 20 years ago whilst over on a WHV, would they still have a record of that - I clearly don't!

Thanks
Possibly not. Hubby worked over here in 1984 and had a TFN. However they were still paper based. When they went over to computer, if yours wasn't in use, it probably wasn't 'moved' over and so no record of it. Hubby had to get a new one. Can't remember the exact date but think it was late 80s/early 90s.
moneypenny20 is offline  
Old Jan 15th 2009, 11:16 am
  #7  
Forum Regular
 
Joined: Jan 2009
Location: Gold Coast
Posts: 90
movingaway is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: TFN and Medicare

Originally Posted by moneypen20 View Post
Possibly not. Hubby worked over here in 1984 and had a TFN. However they were still paper based. When they went over to computer, if yours wasn't in use, it probably wasn't 'moved' over and so no record of it. Hubby had to get a new one. Can't remember the exact date but think it was late 80s/early 90s.
Thanks for that. I was over in 1988 so sounds like that sort of time. When your husband applied for a TFN did he mention that he was over at that time or did he just apply for a new one?
Thanks
movingaway is offline  
Old Jan 15th 2009, 11:28 am
  #8  
Crazy Cat Lady
 
moneypenny20's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2004
Posts: 64,939
moneypenny20 has a reputation beyond reputemoneypenny20 has a reputation beyond reputemoneypenny20 has a reputation beyond reputemoneypenny20 has a reputation beyond reputemoneypenny20 has a reputation beyond reputemoneypenny20 has a reputation beyond reputemoneypenny20 has a reputation beyond reputemoneypenny20 has a reputation beyond reputemoneypenny20 has a reputation beyond reputemoneypenny20 has a reputation beyond reputemoneypenny20 has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: TFN and Medicare

Originally Posted by movingaway View Post
Thanks for that. I was over in 1988 so sounds like that sort of time. When your husband applied for a TFN did he mention that he was over at that time or did he just apply for a new one?
Thanks
He told them and they searched for his old number for a while and then said it must have not been carried over and gave him a new one - no problem. Just took a little while longer than it took to get mine.
moneypenny20 is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.