Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Australia
Reload this Page >

Television and DVDs - Do they work?

Television and DVDs - Do they work?

Old Jan 7th 2002, 9:21 am
  #1  
Forum Regular
Thread Starter
 
Joined: Oct 2001
Posts: 40
leeta is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

I am moving to Australia from the UK and have a Widescreen TV and DVD player. Will UK systems work in Australia or not as I do not want to ship them over if they are unlikely to work.

Cheers
leeta is offline  
Old Jan 7th 2002, 10:15 am
  #2  
Graham Wood
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Tv will not work directly as the uk flavor of PAL is different from that used in
Australia..... But ship the TV and just buy a local video player and use that as the
tuner, and connect to your TV via composite.

leeta wrote:

    >
    >
    >
    >
    >
    >
    >
 
Old Jan 7th 2002, 10:48 am
  #3  
Jaj
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Unless your DVD is multi region it may not play discs you buy in Australia - as the
UK is within Region 2 and Australia is in region 4.

Of course, if you buy a DVD in Australia and it's not multi-region then it won't play
any discs you bring from the UK. Multi-region DVD seems to be the only way to go.

Jeremy

    >
    >
    >
    >
    >
    >
    >
 
Old Jan 7th 2002, 12:42 pm
  #4  
Forum Regular
 
Joined: Dec 2001
Posts: 38
tasmanet is an unknown quantity at this point
Default DVD and TV


Sell them and get new ones here in Oz

Then you will have new warrenties and will not have
to worry about who can repair them
tasmanet is offline  
Old Jan 7th 2002, 1:13 pm
  #5  
Udo Nesshoever
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Hi leeta,

    >
    >
    >

DVDs bought down under won't work on your UK-DVD player unless you disable(d) the
region code. Besides that DVD and TV will work together as they did in the UK.

Cheers,
Udo
--
Homepage: http://www.nesshoever.de/ [No mails please. Reply here.]
 
Old Jan 7th 2002, 2:01 pm
  #6  
Mandy Bale
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

tv won't work but dvd will if it is multiregion. We are having our dvd player
altered to multiregion so we can take it with us. Otherwise you will be stuck with
just being able to play region 2 (i think) where as Australia is region 1 (may be
the other way round).

    >
    >
    >
    >
    >
    >
    >
 
Old Jan 7th 2002, 2:30 pm
  #7  
Forum Regular
Thread Starter
 
Joined: Oct 2001
Posts: 40
leeta is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

How did you get your DVD altered ?- I don't really want to have to fork out another £500 equiv for a new Aussie one. The altering idea sounds good. Is is expensive?
leeta is offline  
Old Jan 7th 2002, 3:31 pm
  #8  
Udo Nesshoever
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Hi leeta,

    >
    >

Depends. Some players have to be altered at the hardware, some just need a firmware
upgrade or some - hehehe, as mine, hehehe - have sth. like a hidden menue where you
can just switch the region code or just bypass
it. A good source to find out whether and/or how your player can be modified, visit
http://www.vcdhelp.com/

HTH

Cheers,
Udo
--
Homepage: http://www.nesshoever.de/ [No mails please. Reply here.]
 
Old Jan 7th 2002, 3:51 pm
  #9  
Forum Regular
Thread Starter
 
Joined: Oct 2001
Posts: 40
leeta is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

Udo

Thanks for your comments/help
You seem to know what you are talking about.
I have a Sony DAV-S300 Home Entertainment DVD System (UK.
Can this system be converted to multiregional do you know.
I tried looking on the web-site you suggested but did not really understand the detail below my system.

Cheers
Lee
leeta is offline  
Old Jan 7th 2002, 4:32 pm
  #10  
Mark :-\)
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Check out http://www.dvd.reviewer.co.uk

regards MD

    >
    >
    >
    >
    >
    >
    >
    >
    >
    >
 
Old Jan 7th 2002, 9:30 pm
  #11  
Udo Nesshoever
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Hi leeta,

    >
    >
    >

Well, it looks like a "normal" player can not be "freed". Looks like there is some
kind of hardware kit that would make that possible but I read somewhere that this is
about 85 Pound ( So apparently there's no such easy way like using the remote to
patch your player.

Cheers,
Udo
--
Homepage: http://www.nesshoever.de/ [No mails please. Reply here.]
 
Old Jan 8th 2002, 1:31 am
  #12  
Paul A Dubar
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Wow, I didn't realise this newsgroup had become a DVD tech forum.

Leeta - if you go for cable TV in Australia, your TV will work fine. Simply put, it
will not understand the signal from the standard TV Ariel from the wall. Graham Wood
gave good advice on buying an OZ video player to receive the Ariel signal and send it
to your TV providing you don't connect the video to the TV using the ariel (RF)
connection and use the yellow, red and white sockets (for those who don't know what
composite means).

I've got a multi region DVD player I bought in the UK and it works fine over here for
Oz DVD's and my UK ones (plus any from any other part of the world). In fact, I
bought Shrek here in OZ, and it was Region 4 (OZ) and Region 2 (UK) !

If you're TV is widescreen (and cost a bit too) I'm sure it's got more than one set
of composite inputs + svideo, so you should be able to connect in all your devices.

I've just bought a TV here, and from my research, they are cheaper in the UK, believe
it or not ! Widescreens in OZ cost from $2000, whereas similar models (Phillips) cost
350 quid and up in the UK (see www.kelkoo.com for comparisons - wish there was
something similar in Australia).

My advice, before simply taking any advice to 'just sell something and buy new in OZ'
do some research on prices - I strongly recommend even getting retailers phone
numbers in OZ and calling them up to verify price/specifications of products. Believe
me, it worth the time and effort.

Paul.

    >
    >
    >
    >
    >
    >
    >
 
Old Jan 8th 2002, 8:18 am
  #13  
Forum Regular
Thread Starter
 
Joined: Oct 2001
Posts: 40
leeta is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

Thanks everyone for your assistance here - looks like I may be able to keep them then (with modif to the DVD player)
leeta is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service

Copyright © 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.