Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Australia
Reload this Page >

Tattooing scene in Australia??

Tattooing scene in Australia??

Old Jan 4th 2004, 5:00 pm
Just Joined

SuziTattoo is an unknown quantity at this point
Question Tattooing scene in Australia??

Hiya - I'm a 1st time user of the forum - just stumbled across it when I was searching the web for immigration to Oz. You seem like a friendly bunch so here goes with my possibly unusual question!!

I'm really into my body art and was wondering what the tattooing scene is like down under (possibly Brisbane)? I'm a female tattoo artist (among other things!) and would love to carry on my career in Australia - BUT I've heard from others in the business that tattooing is still very male dominated in Australia and that I may not be greeted very well being a gal! I've tattooed in the UK and USA with no problems and was hoping that it would be the same 'down under'.

My husband and I are hopefully setting out before May 4th 2004 (before our police checks and medicals expire) - just waiting on FBI police checks (which they didn't let us know we should have had done until a month ago!!) Heading for Brisbane we think but would love to hear from others (tattooed or not!!) who have made the move with any tips or advice!!! Thanks a lot, Suzi
Old Jan 4th 2004, 5:03 pm
WBB

Default Re: Tattooing scene in Australia??

Originally posted by SuziTattoo
Hiya - I'm a 1st time user of the forum - just stumbled across it when I was searching the web for immigration to Oz. You seem like a friendly bunch so here goes with my possibly unusual question!!