British Expats

British Expats (https://britishexpats.com/forum/)
-   Australia (https://britishexpats.com/forum/australia-54/)
-   -   Sydney NYE fireworks - Goer or hopeless. (https://britishexpats.com/forum/australia-54/sydney-nye-fireworks-goer-hopeless-918231/)

BEVS Oct 12th 2018 1:59 am

Sydney NYE fireworks - Goer or hopeless.

Just wondering about the firework displays on NYE in Sydney.

Is it possible to see these without paying mental amounts of $$$$ just to get a squeezed in spot with a gazillion other sweaty bodies , or are there good ways to maybe be in the right time and right place to perhaps see being more relaxed.

I'm not very good with crowds either. :unsure:

We have not been to Sydney. Husband has to have the compulsory two week Xmas/NY shutdown from work. TBH this period is all a bit meh here where we are so we usually do DIY jobs.

I'm also thinking that a break away at this time might be good as it will be my first year, after 20 years, without my Tyler pusscat which may seem a bit daft to some but to me it isn't.

It's just about doing something maybe different if we can and Oz is not too bad to get to from where we are in NZ.

Beoz Oct 12th 2018 3:10 am

Re: Sydney NYE fireworks - Goer or hopeless.

Originally Posted by BEVS (Post 12576435)

Is it possible to see these without paying mental amounts of $$$$ just to get a squeezed in spot with a gazillion other sweaty bodies , or are there good ways to maybe be in the right time and right place to perhaps see being more relaxed.

We have not been to Sydney. Husband has to have the compulsory two week Xmas/NY shutdown from work. TBH this period is all a bit meh here where we are so we usually do DIY jobs.

I'm also thinking that a break away at this time might be good as it will be my first year, after 20 years, without my Tyler pusscat which may seem a bit daft to some but to me it isn't.