Reload this Page >

Sydney, IT job hunting

Sydney, IT job hunting

Old Aug 4th 2004, 2:55 am
:D

spigs is an unknown quantity at this point
Unhappy Sydney, IT job hunting

hi all

any tips from fellow IT-ers in Sydney when job hunting?

I can't seem to get past the 'no local work experience' problem when looking for jobs, I have a degree, 10 years app development exp (Oracle, VB,ASP) but no luck!

any suggestions or help most welcome!
Old Aug 4th 2004, 3:16 am
Badge

Default Re: Sydney, IT job hunting

Originally posted by spigs
hi all

I can't seem to get past the 'no local work experience' problem when looking for jobs, I have a degree, 10 years app development exp (Oracle, VB,ASP) but no luck!

all I can suggest is that you need to get lucky
, and befriend an agent, and network like crazy. That's how I did it.

BM

Old Aug 4th 2004, 3:20 am

gedge has disabled reputation

I can't seem to get past the 'no local work experience' problem when looking for jobs,
Can't say I ever seen that. Is there a particular business area you are looking at that requires local knowledge?
What do the agencies tell you? (Don't believe everything they say, just the bits that you can confirm elsewhere).
Networking helps, but it's a chicken and egg situation IYKWIM.
We use those skill sets, but no vacancies at the mo.

Where are you looking for work? Which papers, web sites?
There are plenty of recommendations on this site, do a search.
I used
seek, jobnet and careerone
Old Aug 4th 2004, 3:26 am
:D

spigs is an unknown quantity at this point

Yeah I'm on Jobnet, seek, careerone,mycareer every day (like now)

no particular business area,
the 'local work experience' is what I heard back from 2 agencies, maybe they're just using it as an excuse for their inability to help

I have a good cv and some nice companies on it , gets the agencies but i don't get to interviews.
I guess there must be a lot of Oracle developers around at the moment