Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Australia
Reload this Page >

Something to watch out for when insuring your car.

Something to watch out for when insuring your car.

Old Jan 6th 2006, 10:08 am
Forum Regular

Melchels is on a distinguished road
Default Something to watch out for when insuring your car.

I just thought that I would pass on my experience of insuring a car in Victoria. I was trying to insure my Holden Commodore and since I have just arrived in Aus and only just transferred my licence to a Victorian one, most insurance companies wanted to double my excess as I am an inexperienced driver in Australia! 20 years driving but inexperienced!

I found one company that treated me sensibly and gave me protected NCD since I had a good UK driving record. AAMI, they were friendly and reasonably priced.

Make sure you ask about the excess when insuring you car and transferring to a new Aussie licence.
Old Jan 6th 2006, 10:34 am
Hussy

mika24me is a glorious beacon of lightmika24me is a glorious beacon of lightmika24me is a glorious beacon of lightmika24me is a glorious beacon of lightmika24me is a glorious beacon of lightmika24me is a glorious beacon of lightmika24me is a glorious beacon of lightmika24me is a glorious beacon of lightmika24me is a glorious beacon of lightmika24me is a glorious beacon of lightmika24me is a glorious beacon of light
Default Re: Something to watch out for when insuring your car.

Originally Posted by Melchels
I just thought that I would pass on my experience of insuring a car in Victoria. I was trying to insure my Holden Commodore and since I have just arrived in Aus and only just transferred my licence to a Victorian one, most insurance companies wanted to double my excess as I am an inexperienced driver in Australia! 20 years driving but inexperienced!

I found one company that treated me sensibly and gave me protected NCD since I had a good UK driving record. AAMI, they were friendly and reasonably priced.