Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Australia
Reload this Page >

Skill assessment or RPL

Skill assessment or RPL

Old Aug 24th 2002, 1:13 pm
  #1  
Just Joined
Thread Starter
 
Joined: Aug 2002
Posts: 16
firozl is an unknown quantity at this point
Question Skill assessment or RPL

Hi,
I am a Bachelor of Engineer in Electronics & Telecommunications. I have done some short term diploma courses in Computer Hardware Technology, ORACLE/ Developer2000, C/C++ and Application Development Specialist in AS/400. And I am also a Cerified Novell Administrator.

In addition to this I have almost 5 years of experience in IT of which almost 3 years as Software Designer and 2 years as Hardware and Network administrator.

I wanted to know with all this background, can I apply for Skill Assessment with ACS or do I have to first apply for RPL.
firozl is offline  
Old Aug 24th 2002, 2:26 pm
  #2  
Ex Mod (2002-2005)
 
ptlabs's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2002
Location: NSW
Posts: 5,464
ptlabs has a reputation beyond reputeptlabs has a reputation beyond reputeptlabs has a reputation beyond reputeptlabs has a reputation beyond reputeptlabs has a reputation beyond reputeptlabs has a reputation beyond reputeptlabs has a reputation beyond reputeptlabs has a reputation beyond reputeptlabs has a reputation beyond reputeptlabs has a reputation beyond reputeptlabs has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Skill assessment or RPL

Out of curiosity, where did you get your bachelor's degree and diplomas?

Does your bachelor's degree have any computer science content? Are you a member of any computer societies?
Originally posted by firozl:
I am a Bachelor of Engineer in Electronics & Telecommunications. I have done some short term diploma courses in Computer Hardware Technology, ORACLE/ Developer2000, C/C++ and Application Development Specialist in AS/400. And I am also a Cerified Novell Administrator.
ptlabs is offline  
Old Aug 24th 2002, 5:41 pm
  #3  
Just Joined
Thread Starter
 
Joined: Aug 2002
Posts: 16
firozl is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: Skill assessment or RPL

Originally posted by ptlabs:
Out of curiosity, where did you get your bachelor's degree and diplomas?

Does your bachelor's degree have any computer science content? Are you a member of any computer societies?
I have done Engineering from Amravati University, India. There were couple of subjects related to computers each in 2nd year to final year which included some computer basics to some programming and microprocessor programming as well. And I am not a member of any computer societies
firozl is offline  
Old Aug 24th 2002, 6:02 pm
  #4  
Ex Mod (2002-2005)
 
ptlabs's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2002
Location: NSW
Posts: 5,464
ptlabs has a reputation beyond reputeptlabs has a reputation beyond reputeptlabs has a reputation beyond reputeptlabs has a reputation beyond reputeptlabs has a reputation beyond reputeptlabs has a reputation beyond reputeptlabs has a reputation beyond reputeptlabs has a reputation beyond reputeptlabs has a reputation beyond reputeptlabs has a reputation beyond reputeptlabs has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Skill assessment or RPL

You mentioned that you are a CNA. A CNE qualification is recognized by the ACS at the associate level. http://www.acs.org.au/COURS20_2.htm
I'm not sure what's the difference between a CNA and a CNE, though. And CNA doesn't appear on ACS' list.

If your qualification is recognized at the associate level, you may be bunched in Group B if you go for an ACS skills assessment.

Peter
Originally posted by firozl:
I have done Engineering from Amravati University, India. There were couple of subjects related to computers each in 2nd year to final year which included some computer basics to some programming and microprocessor programming as well. And I am not a member of any computer societies
ptlabs is offline  
Old Aug 24th 2002, 6:41 pm
  #5  
Just Joined
Thread Starter
 
Joined: Aug 2002
Posts: 16
firozl is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: Skill assessment or RPL

Originally posted by ptlabs:
You mentioned that you are a CNA. A CNE qualification is recognized by the ACS at the associate level. http://www.acs.org.au/COURS20_2.htm
I'm not sure what's the difference between a CNA and a CNE, though. And CNA doesn't appear on ACS' list.

If your qualification is recognized at the associate level, you may be bunched in Group B if you go for an ACS skills assessment.

Peter
Thanks for your help! Could you clarify one more thing. In1996 I finished my Engineering and did some short term courses. And also started working as Hrdware & Network engineer for 2 years. During this period I became Certified Novell Administrator. After finishing this job I did AS/400 course for couple of months and worked in IBM for 10months as Programmer and then did ORACLE and worked as software designer for 6 months and then went to Australia for doing Master of Information systems(MIS). But I could finish 70 credit points of MIS and then went to Sweden and since then (Feb2001) I am working in Ericsson. I have a letter from college saying that I have finished 70 credit points of studies. Can this will help me out in my skill assessment. Also if I complete one more subject then I will be eligible for the Graduate Diploma in Information system which is in the list of ACS. But if I finish that and get the certifcate then will my previous experience will be counted or not ?
firozl is offline  
Old Aug 25th 2002, 1:06 am
  #6  
Ex Mod (2002-2005)
 
ptlabs's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2002
Location: NSW
Posts: 5,464
ptlabs has a reputation beyond reputeptlabs has a reputation beyond reputeptlabs has a reputation beyond reputeptlabs has a reputation beyond reputeptlabs has a reputation beyond reputeptlabs has a reputation beyond reputeptlabs has a reputation beyond reputeptlabs has a reputation beyond reputeptlabs has a reputation beyond reputeptlabs has a reputation beyond reputeptlabs has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Skill assessment or RPL

> ... then went to Australia for doing Master of Information systems(MIS). But I could finish
> 70 credit points of MIS and then went to Sweden and since then (Feb2001) I am working in
> Ericsson. I have a letter from college saying that I have finished 70 credit points of studies.
> Can this will help me out in my skill assessment. Also if I complete one more subject then I
> will be eligible for the Graduate Diploma in Information system which is in the list of ACS.

The only sure way of telling whether it will have any impact on your skills assessment is to actually bite the bullet and send your application in to ACS with all relevant documentation. It costs AUD350 now, a relatively low amount when compared to the DIMIA application fee proper.


> But if I finish that and get the certifcate then will my previous experience will be counted or not?

It'll depend what kind of assessment the ACS gives you. Have you thought about engaging a professional migration agent to advise you? Your situation seems a bit complicated as new facts seem to pop up along the way.


Peter
ptlabs is offline  
Old Aug 25th 2002, 6:30 am
  #7  
George Lombard
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Skill assessment or RPL

Hi Firoz,

Interesting situation. On the basis of your description of your circumstances I
think you'll qualify for a Group B assessment by ACS on the basis of your studies,
but that is by no means certain as ACS has recently increased its requirements for
Group A with respect to MIS style degrees. If you are accepted in Group B, no
worries. If not, you might need to come back and finish the final year of your MIS.

Cheers

George Lombard

www.austimmigration.com.au ptlabs
wrote in message <[email protected]>...
    >> ... then went to Australia for doing Master of Information systems(MIS). But I
    >> could finish 70 credit points of MIS and then went to Sweden and since then
    >> (Feb2001) I am working in Ericsson. I have a letter from college saying that I
    >> have finished 70 credit points of studies. Can this will help me out in my skill
    >> assessment. Also if I complete one more subject then I will be eligible for the
    >> Graduate Diploma in Information system which is in the list of ACS.
    >The only sure way of telling whether it will have any impact on your skills
    >assessment is to actually bite the bullet and send your application in to ACS with
    >all relevant documentation. It costs AUD350 now, a relatively low amount when
    >compared to the DIMIA application fee proper.
    >> But if I finish that and get the certifcate then will my previous experience will
    >> be counted or not?
    >It'll depend what kind of assessment the ACS gives you. Have you thought about
    >engaging a professional migration agent to advise you? Your situation seems a bit
    >complicated as new facts seem to pop up along the way.
    >Peter
    >--
    >Visited http://www.austimeline.com/ yet?
    >Posted via http://britishexpats.com
 

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service

Copyright © 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.