British Expats

British Expats (https://britishexpats.com/forum/)
-   Australia (https://britishexpats.com/forum/australia-54/)
-   -   Seeking site engineer job - Brisbane (https://britishexpats.com/forum/australia-54/seeking-site-engineer-job-brisbane-929343/)

JohnBruce1234 Nov 18th 2019 8:28 am

Seeking site engineer job - Brisbane

Bit of a long shot but i am moving out to brisbane for a working holiday in the middle of Feb next year. I have been applying for jobs through Seek and not having much luck.

I am wandering if anyone could guide me in the right direction to recruitment companies etc to try and find a job.

A bit of background i have a BSc (Hons) degree in environmental civil engineering and have 5 years setting out experience. Any help would be appreciated!

teza Nov 18th 2019 9:52 am

Re: Seeking site engineer job - Brisbane

Sorry to say the limitations of WHV means you usually end up doing fruit picking and farm work, nowadays hard to get a highly professional job on that visa with so many newly and locally qualified looking for a job. Would you qualify for a skilled visa?

Amazulu Nov 19th 2019 12:07 am

Originally Posted by teza (Post 12765336)
Sorry to say the limitations of WHV means you usually end up doing fruit picking and farm work, nowadays hard to get a highly professional job on that visa with so many newly and locally qualified looking for a job. Would you qualify for a skilled visa?

I got professional jobs on my WHV when I was a backpacker, so it is possible - and the economy was hardly on fire at the time

Plenty of construction going on in the East too. I reckon he's in with a shot

verystormy Nov 19th 2019 4:19 am

Originally Posted by Amazulu (Post 12765694)
I got professional jobs on my WHV when I was a backpacker, so it is possible - and the economy was hardly on fire at the time

Plenty of construction going on in the East too. I reckon he's in with a shot