Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Australia
Reload this Page >

Salary expectation in Australia

Salary expectation in Australia

Old Sep 27th 2002, 12:06 pm
BE Enthusiast

65 million is just really nice65 million is just really nice65 million is just really nice65 million is just really nice65 million is just really nice65 million is just really nice65 million is just really nice65 million is just really nice65 million is just really nice65 million is just really nice65 million is just really nice
Thumbs down Salary expectations in Australia

Hi,

I'm a display designer by trade and earn nearly £30k, here in England which is an reasonable salary.

Last February I visited a company in Melbourne that does the same kind of thing as my company. I was given a full tour of the company and everyone made me feel really welcome. I was on a high until I asked the dreaded question...

"How much could I expect to earn here?"

I was gutted when his response was "AU$35k-$45k". I didnt expect to earn the equivalent of my UK salary (that would be around AU$82K) but was honestly expecting more.

I'm 32 years old with plenty of experience. They have offered me a position with the company next year, though have not negotiated a final salary. Should I be bartering with him or are you expected to simply accept or refuse an offer?.

What's your opinion of this offer?. How does it compare to average salary's???.

Many thanks

Last edited by 65 million; Sep 27th 2002 at 12:28 pm.
Old Sep 27th 2002, 12:11 pm
col
BE Enthusiast

col is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: Salary expectation in Australia

Take what ever you can get, settle then barter. You have nothing until you have a Job. 35-40 will see you all right.
Old Sep 27th 2002, 2:23 pm
Banned