British Expats

British Expats (https://britishexpats.com/forum/)
-   Australia (https://britishexpats.com/forum/australia-54/)
-   -   Retirement (https://britishexpats.com/forum/australia-54/retirement-120268/)

arid Dec 3rd 2002 11:29 am

Retirement

I’m a recent addition to the Forum and have read the various messages on the OZ / NZ board for the past couple of weeks and must say, some are very entertaining; better than watching the cricket!!! Anyway I did not realize that so many people are escaping from the UK for whatever reason. It also may be interesting to hear why PB was sent to Oz in the first place! I mean immigrated.

Having worked overseas during the past 35-years in various countries, some of which have been far more hostile than the UK or Australia, some a lot closer to paradise than the UK and although I mention Australia, my last visit to WA was in 1970, so I’m no expert. What I can say however is that you will not be able to fully appreciate anywhere unless you give it your best shot and the time. For the men folk (who are married) and yes I am one, keeping the little lady happy is of prime importance, without their support you are doomed. Making friends (this is usually achieved quickly and easily through children) and becoming members of local societies or clubs as soon as possible is very important. This gives ready access to information on the area of your choice or as the case may be, not your choice. Either way it will help to establish roots and become part of the community.

Most of the postings that I have read are from those who are looking for a new experience in life with regards to both work and lifestyle and seem to be from those who have already or are in the process, or would like to make the move. However, I see very little from those who have emigrated or would like to for retirement purposes; are there any..?