Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Australia
Reload this Page >

Questions that need answers.....?

Wikiposts

Questions that need answers.....?

Old Jan 27th 2009, 2:25 am
Just Joined

Miss G is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Questions that need answers.....?

[F][F]
Hey there, I'm new to this so forgive me for any mistakes.

Like many, myself, partner and 7mth old daughter are desperately wanting to emigrate 'down under'.
Queensland looks like it would suit us but we still have a lot of unanswered questions.
My partner is 28 yrs old and a qualified motor mechanic with 15yrs experience working for 'Vauxhell'.
All I have is NVQ2 working in a clinical environment for 10 years, also have just received my certificates allowing me to work as a Nail Technician.

Looks like a lot of you guys have relevant experience so am hoping you will be able to answer my questions.

1. I understand my partner will be the visa holder but what kind of visa suits us?

2. What are the average weekly/monthly earnings for a motor mechanic in QLD

3. Do you have to pay for nursery fees?

4. If my partner was to get sponsorship how does this work? Do you get the job first then apply for visa? or apply for visa then get sponsor?

5. If my partner does get a visa does that mean myself and our baby daughter do to?

6. In QLD what will our daily expenses add up to?

7. My partner was born in Africa and came to England when he was 8, he is now a british citizen, will this effect our visa application in any way?

8. Does anybody have previous experiences shipping house contents to Oz? If so how much were your quotes approx?

9. I understand there are many visas but depending on what you think suits us how long on average is the process?

10. How much do visas cost?

11. How much do 2 bedroom apartments/house rent for in coastal areas in queensland rent for approx?

12. Are there many beauty salons in QLD that have Nail Tech's available?
Old Jan 27th 2009, 2:32 am