British Expats

British Expats (https://britishexpats.com/forum/)
-   Australia (https://britishexpats.com/forum/australia-54/)
-   -   Plumbing, Gas work or Air Con please help? (https://britishexpats.com/forum/australia-54/plumbing-gas-work-air-con-please-help-646689/)

trevfitz Dec 30th 2009 8:32 pm

Plumbing, Gas work or Air Con please help?

Hi we are planning a move to australia within the next few years (Brisbane) and need some help on the right career move once in oz? im a qualified plumber and gas fitter here in england and have heard in australia that our qualifications here mean nothing once in oz
What qualifications in australia will deem me employable once there?
Can i achieve these qualifications in the uk before the move?

I have also heard that the gas work in australia is not what it is over here and that there is not much call for his type of work?

i am thinking of re training in the air conditioning trade? would there be more chance of getting work this way?

Many thanks for taking the time to read this look forward to my replies

Fitzpatrick Family

Ozzy Fever Dec 30th 2009 10:44 pm

Re: Plumbing, Gas work or Air Con please help?

hubby came over here as a gas fitter, well thats how we got the visa. Gas work is a nightmare to get into, your trade is recognised but not your skills, we could not get any sense out of anyone when we arrived on how to get his skills recognised. Eventually he gave up and got a job putting up car ports as we needed $$ coming in.

We have been in Adelaide 18 months and he has just managed to get a job in his trade well air con engineer, still not got his licence but is working for a company and they are going to send him to Tafe to get his skills recognised.

So it can be done but be prepared for some frustrating time ahead.

trevfitz Dec 31st 2009 7:14 am

Thank you ozzy fever for your help,

I think i might have to look into the air con route b4 i head out so can come out with plumbing and air con trades