Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Australia
Reload this Page >

parental responsibility?

parental responsibility?

Old May 19th 2003, 11:03 am
Forum Regular

janweb is an unknown quantity at this point
Default parental responsibility?

We, husband + 3 children, are hoping to get to nz in the not too distant future. I am a nurse and my husband is a design studio manager. We have two children of our own and one by my previous relatonship. She is 13 and does not see her father as he married and felt it better to have a clean slate! Although he does pay child support for her. We were not married and he has never applied for 'parental responsibilty'. Do I still need his permission for her to emigrate? We have already changed her surname by deedpole to the family name and we did not need his permission for that.

Also, we can't decide between North island and South island, any tips would be great.

So many more questions!
Thanks for your time.
Old May 19th 2003, 11:12 am
earlswood

Hi janweb,

We are applying to OZ and I have 2 children from a previous marriage, my eldest son is 17 and daughter 14, we have been told that although I have sole custody I have to get a sworn agreement from their father certified to say they can leave the UK as they are under 18.

Earlswood

Old May 19th 2003, 11:16 am
Forum Regular

Originally posted by earlswood
Hi janweb,

We are applying to OZ and I have 2 children from a previous marriage, my eldest son is 17 and daughter 14, we have been told that although I have sole custody I have to get a sworn agreement from their father certified to say they can leave the UK as they are under 18.

Earlswood
Thanks for your reply. How soon in the process will I need to do this. I have a nasty suspicion that he may try to block it even though he doesn't see her. What happens if he doesn't agree?

Jan
Old May 19th 2003, 11:41 am
earlswood