Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Australia
Reload this Page >

Is Oz Broadband ready?

Is Oz Broadband ready?

Old Oct 19th 2006, 12:52 am
  #1  
Forum Regular
Thread Starter
 
ScottBev's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2006
Posts: 31
ScottBev is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Is Oz Broadband ready?

The title explains it.

So...Is Oz Broadband ready?
ScottBev is offline  
Old Oct 19th 2006, 1:03 am
  #2  
Full Throttle
 
stevemich's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2005
Location: here
Posts: 1,728
stevemich has a reputation beyond reputestevemich has a reputation beyond reputestevemich has a reputation beyond reputestevemich has a reputation beyond reputestevemich has a reputation beyond reputestevemich has a reputation beyond reputestevemich has a reputation beyond reputestevemich has a reputation beyond reputestevemich has a reputation beyond reputestevemich has a reputation beyond reputestevemich has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Is Oz Broadband ready?

Originally Posted by ScottBev
The title explains it.

So...Is Oz Broadband ready?
No, we all use dial up, and have hamsters in wheels powering the pc's.
stevemich is offline  
Old Oct 19th 2006, 1:13 am
  #3  
BE Forum Addict
 
Luma's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2005
Location: WA
Posts: 1,784
Luma has a reputation beyond reputeLuma has a reputation beyond reputeLuma has a reputation beyond reputeLuma has a reputation beyond reputeLuma has a reputation beyond reputeLuma has a reputation beyond reputeLuma has a reputation beyond reputeLuma has a reputation beyond reputeLuma has a reputation beyond reputeLuma has a reputation beyond reputeLuma has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Is Oz Broadband ready?

Ready for what?

Originally Posted by ScottBev
The title explains it.

So...Is Oz Broadband ready?
Luma is offline  
Old Oct 19th 2006, 1:16 am
  #4  
Lost in BE Cyberspace
 
Wendy's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2005
Location: at the bottom of a wine glass
Posts: 28,176
Wendy has a reputation beyond reputeWendy has a reputation beyond reputeWendy has a reputation beyond reputeWendy has a reputation beyond reputeWendy has a reputation beyond reputeWendy has a reputation beyond reputeWendy has a reputation beyond reputeWendy has a reputation beyond reputeWendy has a reputation beyond reputeWendy has a reputation beyond reputeWendy has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Is Oz Broadband ready?

Originally Posted by stevemich
No, we all use dial up, and have hamsters in wheels powering the pc's.

Actually, I think thats what I have
Wendy is offline  
Old Oct 19th 2006, 1:20 am
  #5  
Full Throttle
 
stevemich's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2005
Location: here
Posts: 1,728
stevemich has a reputation beyond reputestevemich has a reputation beyond reputestevemich has a reputation beyond reputestevemich has a reputation beyond reputestevemich has a reputation beyond reputestevemich has a reputation beyond reputestevemich has a reputation beyond reputestevemich has a reputation beyond reputestevemich has a reputation beyond reputestevemich has a reputation beyond reputestevemich has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Is Oz Broadband ready?

Originally Posted by Wendy
Actually, I think thats what I have
I hope you let Hammy out once in a while to appreciate its better life in Oz
stevemich is offline  
Old Oct 19th 2006, 1:26 am
  #6  
Lost in BE Cyberspace
 
Wendy's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2005
Location: at the bottom of a wine glass
Posts: 28,176
Wendy has a reputation beyond reputeWendy has a reputation beyond reputeWendy has a reputation beyond reputeWendy has a reputation beyond reputeWendy has a reputation beyond reputeWendy has a reputation beyond reputeWendy has a reputation beyond reputeWendy has a reputation beyond reputeWendy has a reputation beyond reputeWendy has a reputation beyond reputeWendy has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Is Oz Broadband ready?

Originally Posted by stevemich
I hope you let Hammy out once in a while to appreciate its better life in Oz
Of course. I gave him a night off yesterday, he can have another in a couple of weeks.
Wendy is offline  
Old Oct 19th 2006, 1:29 am
  #7  
Full Throttle
 
stevemich's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2005
Location: here
Posts: 1,728
stevemich has a reputation beyond reputestevemich has a reputation beyond reputestevemich has a reputation beyond reputestevemich has a reputation beyond reputestevemich has a reputation beyond reputestevemich has a reputation beyond reputestevemich has a reputation beyond reputestevemich has a reputation beyond reputestevemich has a reputation beyond reputestevemich has a reputation beyond reputestevemich has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Is Oz Broadband ready?

Originally Posted by Wendy
Of course. I gave him a night off yesterday, he can have another in a couple of weeks.
Lots of sunflower seeds and he'll be right mate!
stevemich is offline  
Old Oct 19th 2006, 5:49 am
  #8  
Fighting my corner
 
Vash the Stampede's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2005
Location: Adelaide, South Australia
Posts: 11,948
Vash the Stampede has a reputation beyond reputeVash the Stampede has a reputation beyond reputeVash the Stampede has a reputation beyond reputeVash the Stampede has a reputation beyond reputeVash the Stampede has a reputation beyond reputeVash the Stampede has a reputation beyond reputeVash the Stampede has a reputation beyond reputeVash the Stampede has a reputation beyond reputeVash the Stampede has a reputation beyond reputeVash the Stampede has a reputation beyond reputeVash the Stampede has a reputation beyond repute
Arrow Re: Is Oz Broadband ready?

Originally Posted by ScottBev
The title explains it.

So...Is Oz Broadband ready?
Find a broadband plan.
Vash the Stampede is offline  
Old Oct 19th 2006, 5:51 am
  #9  
.
 
fraser's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2004
Posts: 21,374
fraser has a reputation beyond reputefraser has a reputation beyond reputefraser has a reputation beyond reputefraser has a reputation beyond reputefraser has a reputation beyond reputefraser has a reputation beyond reputefraser has a reputation beyond reputefraser has a reputation beyond reputefraser has a reputation beyond reputefraser has a reputation beyond reputefraser has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Is Oz Broadband ready?

Originally Posted by ScottBev
The title explains it.

So...Is Oz Broadband ready?
Sort of, it's just not as good as you'd be used to, but it does
fraser is offline  
Old Oct 19th 2006, 5:59 am
  #10  
Forum Regular
 
Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 57
coggerocks2 will become famous soon enough
Default Re: Is Oz Broadband ready?

Yes

There's quite a large ADSL2+ network out there now.

It does rely on a copper network rather then fiber-optics though.

If you are in a major city or close to an exchange you probably can get super fast ADSL2+ even if you aren't you can still get broadband.

For example I have a 24,000 k connection to give you some scale dial up is usually max 56 k.
coggerocks2 is offline  
Old Oct 19th 2006, 7:55 am
  #11  
Ex BE ***** Addict
 
arkon's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,765
arkon has a reputation beyond reputearkon has a reputation beyond reputearkon has a reputation beyond reputearkon has a reputation beyond reputearkon has a reputation beyond reputearkon has a reputation beyond reputearkon has a reputation beyond reputearkon has a reputation beyond reputearkon has a reputation beyond reputearkon has a reputation beyond reputearkon has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Is Oz Broadband ready?

Originally Posted by ScottBev
The title explains it.

So...Is Oz Broadband ready?
Broadband ready yes, internet savvy no. Needed a replacement head for my
shaver yesterday...Oz search=273 sites all useless. UK search=414 sites and plenty selling them.
arkon is offline  
Old Oct 19th 2006, 11:35 am
  #12  
Forum Regular
 
Joined: Jan 2005
Location: seghill >perth bored oot me tree
Posts: 204
task is just really nicetask is just really nicetask is just really nicetask is just really nicetask is just really nicetask is just really nicetask is just really nicetask is just really nicetask is just really nicetask is just really nicetask is just really nice
Default Re: Is Oz Broadband ready?

just got on the net broadband and it took a long time to arrive from sydney 2 bloody weeks we are in perth this place is so slow its going backwards.
task
task is offline  
Old Oct 19th 2006, 3:44 pm
  #13  
Forum Regular
 
Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 68
Beermonster is just really niceBeermonster is just really niceBeermonster is just really niceBeermonster is just really niceBeermonster is just really niceBeermonster is just really niceBeermonster is just really niceBeermonster is just really niceBeermonster is just really niceBeermonster is just really nice
Default Re: Is Oz Broadband ready?

Because Australia is so large a country, there are severe difficulties in providing broadband, its very hard to hold a 2,000km long piece of string tight without the knots coming out of the cans at either end.

The climate isnt too helpful either, all that sunlight rots the string really fast
Beermonster is offline  
Old Oct 20th 2006, 12:17 am
  #14  
Ex BE ***** Addict
 
arkon's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,765
arkon has a reputation beyond reputearkon has a reputation beyond reputearkon has a reputation beyond reputearkon has a reputation beyond reputearkon has a reputation beyond reputearkon has a reputation beyond reputearkon has a reputation beyond reputearkon has a reputation beyond reputearkon has a reputation beyond reputearkon has a reputation beyond reputearkon has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Is Oz Broadband ready?

Originally Posted by Beermonster
Because Australia is so large a country, there are severe difficulties in providing broadband, its very hard to hold a 2,000km long piece of string tight without the knots coming out of the cans at either end.

The climate isnt too helpful either, all that sunlight rots the string really fast
The possoms nibble at the string too and for some reason the humidity rusts the tin cans, The fresh immigrants have suggested using stainless steel to make the cans out of or even aluminium but apparently steel cans are best and your a whingin pom for daring to suggest otherwise. We have found smoke signals best, they seem to all be using them, and sometimes I find it hard to sleep with the noise of the drums.
arkon is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.