Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Australia
Reload this Page >

the official jobs/wages thread...

the official jobs/wages thread...

Old Aug 20th 2007, 2:57 pm
Forum Regular

m4t_lee has a brilliant futurem4t_lee has a brilliant futurem4t_lee has a brilliant futurem4t_lee has a brilliant futurem4t_lee has a brilliant futurem4t_lee has a brilliant futurem4t_lee has a brilliant future
Default Re: the official jobs/wages thread...

Hi All,

I've not moved yet but we're just about to apply for our Visa, i was under the impression that if i were to earn around 70 - 80k i should be comfortable and the wife wouldn't have to work, is this far from the truth? I am a IT Infrastructure Tech.

Also food bills, we spend no more than 120 AUD a week here, is food really 300 AUD a week? We have 2 little ones.

Cheers,

Mat
Old Aug 21st 2007, 2:46 pm
Just Joined

jodeandsteve is an unknown quantity at this point
Wink Re: the official jobs/wages thread...

Originally Posted by Clippies
Well obviously I don't live in Australia but having converted it to Sterling I'd be very happy if we had that income coming in to our house every week - seriously happy!

Mind you, we only have one income seeing as I'm a stay at home mom
Well im in Bonnie Scotland, and we are seriously thinking of moving to Oz. I was born there so i still have my ozzie passport- been here 28 years though. But the so called crap wages are freakin me out, is it that exspensive to live in Oz- we were hoping it will be cheaper- less electricty and gas for a start!! I ve worked out the amount in sterling and i too would be happy with that! And i do work! Surely you can spend more time out and about! Not the cinema every week as we poor scots have to do as its peeing down the whole year round!!! Please lets hear some positives of life down under!!!!!!!
Old Aug 21st 2007, 3:30 pm
Paula Eddie and Family

Paula223 is on a distinguished road

Originally Posted by jodeandsteve