British Expats

British Expats (https://britishexpats.com/forum/)
-   Australia (https://britishexpats.com/forum/australia-54/)
-   -   NZ Getting Started (https://britishexpats.com/forum/australia-54/nz-getting-started-105945/)

Karen Dec 11th 2001 10:40 pm

Hi

My husband and I are looking at moving over to NZ and have a few concerns that I'm hoping some of you maybe able to help with.

Our main concern has been that a number of reports have suggested that the NZ economy is slowing down and considered by some to be comparable to a developing nation. Is this affecting the day to day life of ordinary New Zealanders e.g. unemployment figures, inflation, ease of finding employment etc,

This leads on to our second concern about our ability to find work out in NZ, I currently work as an Account Manager for Ericsson selling 3G solutions to Vodafone and Steve works for IBM on a Web Development Team. We are unsure as to whether the IT/Telecoms employment state in NZ is looking for our skills.

If anyone could help it would be appreciated.

Thanks
Karen and Steve

Kevin.Swain Dec 12th 2001 6:16 am

G'day Karen,

I moved over 4 months ago from the UK and settled in Ok. Finding a job is hard
but not impossable infact my company is activly recruting. Check out the job
sites for IT jobs and the NZhearld down at NZ house in london for non IT jobs.
today there must have been 4 pages of IT jobs and about 15 for non IT jobs.

http://www.edenbrown.co.nz/ http://www.ibcl.co.nz/ http://www.robertwalters.com/

The one thing all employers ak is "Why NZ" and how long are you staying.

Good luck with the move you will not regret it for one moment life is so much better
here and you can afford to have a good life style for instace I now have a nice car
and boat etc..

If I can help you any more just drop me an email

Kevin

>
    >
    >
    >
    >
    >
    >
    >
    >
    >
    >
    >
    >
    >
    >
    >
    >
    >
    >
    >

Prad Dec 12th 2001 8:57 am

Hello Mr.Kevin,