Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Australia
Reload this Page >

Nursing in Melbourne

Nursing in Melbourne

Old Apr 1st 2006, 9:52 am
BE Enthusiast

Sugo is a glorious beacon of lightSugo is a glorious beacon of lightSugo is a glorious beacon of lightSugo is a glorious beacon of lightSugo is a glorious beacon of lightSugo is a glorious beacon of lightSugo is a glorious beacon of lightSugo is a glorious beacon of lightSugo is a glorious beacon of lightSugo is a glorious beacon of lightSugo is a glorious beacon of light
Default Nursing in Melbourne

Ok im a Uk nurse who made the move to wellington New Zealand and am in a rut after 6 months, basically im bored life here is too slow, work is getting boring, and have had enough of the crappy rota currently work 6-7 8 hour shifts in a row then 2 days off then 5 on then 2 days off, the same pattern, which means last 3 months have worked every weekend with out fail.

Anyhoo

beacuse they dont like you amounting more than 2 weeks leave they told me i needed to go on leave, they gave me the dates, and then changed them a month before, hey ho again, so i took a late holiday in melbourne and loved it

Melbourne is such a nice place, near the beach and the city has a real buzz to it, so got me thinking should i move to melbourne

so will there be more oportunities for me, im a 4 yr post qualification ED nurse, have done my ALS and ATLS and would like to work in ED or a minor injuries unit in Melbourne,

is nursing different there, is it better or worse than NZ, can you work long 12 hour shifts,