Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Australia
Reload this Page >

Nursing in Australia

Nursing in Australia

Old Dec 15th 2002, 7:01 pm
Nutty Nurse

LondonNurse will become famous soon enoughLondonNurse will become famous soon enough
Default Nursing in Australia

Hiya

I'm in my final year of my Dip HE (Child Branch) Nursing course at a London Uni. Myself and my b/f (a radiographer) are desparate to get out there. But I've asked one of my tutors about working out there to Sydney and she says i'll be classed as an "enrolled nurse" by the registration board because I havnt done the general training, even tho whilst in australia i'll be working as a paeds nurse!

I've been offered a job on a general ward in london when i finish my training and im thinking of taking it and then leaving for Australia after a year, but i don't want to go if im going ot be classed as an enrolled nurse & probably paid less than an RN anyway!

Has anyone got any experience of working in Australia as a Nurse? is it a lot different than the UK? Do nurses have the same responsabilities? Did you use an agency or do it yourself? What would you recommend? I've used an agency for bank work in London and i've found them to be money grabbing buggers so want to avoid using them, unless anyone has heard of a nice one???

Sorry the post is a bit long. Any help would be greatly appreciated!
Old Dec 16th 2002, 5:58 am
Banned

pommie bastard has a reputation beyond reputepommie bastard has a reputation beyond reputepommie bastard has a reputation beyond reputepommie bastard has a reputation beyond reputepommie bastard has a reputation beyond reputepommie bastard has a reputation beyond reputepommie bastard has a reputation beyond reputepommie bastard has a reputation beyond reputepommie bastard has a reputation beyond reputepommie bastard has a reputation beyond reputepommie bastard has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Nursing in Australia

Originally posted by LondonNurse
Hiya