British Expats

British Expats (https://britishexpats.com/forum/)
-   Australia (https://britishexpats.com/forum/australia-54/)
-   -   Nurse wanting to move to oz (https://britishexpats.com/forum/australia-54/nurse-wanting-move-oz-873562/)

Sydney11 Mar 1st 2016 6:22 pm

Nurse wanting to move to oz

Hello
I'm interested in moving to oz for few months probably Sydney. I currently work as a nurse in London. I'm going alone. Has anyone done similar, how easy is it?

Bermudashorts Mar 1st 2016 6:36 pm

Re: Nurse wanting to move to oz

Originally Posted by Sydney11 (Post 11883702)
Hello
I'm interested in moving to oz for few months probably Sydney. I currently work as a nurse in London. I'm going alone. Has anyone done similar, how easy is it?

Are you under 30 and do you want to work whilst you are in Australia? If so it would be very easy to get a working holiday visa which. Would probably fit the bill.

Sydney11 Mar 2nd 2016 3:14 am

Hello
Yes I'm 25 and have already been granted a working holiday visa. I work as a nurse but didn't know if it's easier to start other work in oz to begin with. Just wanted to know how easy it is to find somewhere to live etc as I'd be going alone.

old.sparkles Mar 2nd 2016 3:19 am

Originally Posted by Sydney11 (Post 11884063)
Hello
Yes I'm 25 and have already been granted a working holiday visa. I work as a nurse but didn't know if it's easier to start other work in oz to begin with. Just wanted to know how easy it is to find somewhere to live etc as I'd be going alone.

To work as a nurse in Australia you would need to be registered with AHPRA - have you done this?

Sydney11 Mar 2nd 2016 3:21 am

No I haven't yet as thought might be easier when over there and was more worried about where live etc.

Grayling Mar 2nd 2016 5:37 am

Originally Posted by Sydney11 (Post 11884065)
No I haven't yet as thought might be easier when over there and was more worried about where live etc.