Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Australia
Reload this Page >

'Nother one for Melbourne

'Nother one for Melbourne

Old Jun 29th 2006, 9:55 am
Just Joined

Guitarfish is a jewel in the roughGuitarfish is a jewel in the roughGuitarfish is a jewel in the roughGuitarfish is a jewel in the rough
Default 'Nother one for Melbourne

Hi there

I found the forum a while back and have been trawling through previous posts pulling out some really useful info. I thought it was about time I came out of the shadows and introduced myself before I started posting, so here goes...

My name's Chris and by day I'm a 40ish IT Manager living in Bath in the UK, with my Aussie partner Jen, who spends her days as a hospital scientist. In our own time, we both enjoy the great outdoors (mainly walking and diving), food, travel and making our own music.

We've decided the time has come to see how the world looks from the other side and will be relocating to Melbourne (to be close-ish to Jen's family) but haven't got any more specific than that yet.

We've handled the process ourselves so far - I've received my Partner Visa (in 8 days from posting the app - hurrah!) and our tickets are booked for 10th Sept. Here in the UK, I'm currently working out my notice of redundancy (result!!!! ), the house has been sold, and we're living in temporary rented accommodation. Most of what we're shipping has already gone into storage.

Still to do: finalise the money transfer stuff, find somewhere to live, get jobs, find friends and build a new life! Should be a breeze... :scared:

Thanks to those of you that have posted the excellent information I've found here - hopefully I'll be able to add to it over the next few months!

cheers, Chris
Old Jun 29th 2006, 10:00 am
loz
this is home!!