British Expats

British Expats (https://britishexpats.com/forum/)
-   Australia (https://britishexpats.com/forum/australia-54/)
-   -   No jobs here so I am going home..... (https://britishexpats.com/forum/australia-54/no-jobs-here-so-i-am-going-home-842426/)

alexleeson Sep 4th 2014 1:52 am

No jobs here so I am going home.....

A whinging pom here ;)
After over 12 months of not being able to secure a professional role here, I decided to enquire about jobs in the UK and 3 weeks later I got a job.

I am a risk and audit professional. I was made redundant (they closed the whole division down) in July 2013. In 13 months I sent over 300 applications all over Oz, called companies directly, saw over 20 recruiters, exhausted my network and attended 'networking events'. I had a meagre 3 interviews all of which were due to contacts and in all cases they went with someone less experienced and younger (I am only 37!).

I started to suspect that companies are just preferring younger less experienced and therefore, cheaper staff and do not value experience.
I was told by recruiters there are in excess of 100 people for each managerial job. It knocked my confidence and I felt that this job market didn't appreciate my skills and background.

Having exhausted savings, laden with debt and been told by the bank to sell the house or get repossessed, I casually called two recruiters in the UK. In a week I had my name put forward for six jobs. I had three initial skype interviews and by the third week, after a final interview - a job in my preferred location and industry and matching my previous salary ($150k). I didn't even think I could get such a salary in the UK - so I am very happy about it.

So in October I head back home. I have been here almost 8 years - but my Australian dream turned into a big nightmare of debt due to no job prospects.:( When I sell I have just enough equity to cover debts so I am literally starting with zero in the UK.