Reload this Page >

A new relationship

A new relationship

Old Aug 2nd 2004, 8:01 am
Just Joined

Rob McKay is an unknown quantity at this point
Default A new relationship

Dear All

I'm a new member and this is my first post...so here goes!

I was awarded my skilled class 136 visa back in May of this year (I'm an accountant) and was actually offered a job last Friday to go and work in Melbourne (my preferred location!!) with Deloitte. Fantastic news and I am over the moon! As with all things though, there's a big but...

...I have recently begun a new relationship (6 months) and things are going really well. My girlfriend has obviously expressed concern about me still wanting to emigrate, although has now said that she would come out with me (if possible) and see how she likes it in Oz (she'll love it I'm sure!). I have been looking at the DIMIA website about what visa options are open to her. From what I can see, due to the length of our relationship being less than a year and the fact that she's over 30, she could only come out on a visitor's visa. If this is the case, that means she couldn't work and that could be disastrous as she would be left alone all day. Is anybody out there aware of a visa that we could look into that would allow her some scope to work? We have thought seriously about buying a small business - would a temporary business visa be possible??

I'm desperate for her to come out to Oz with me and experience the lifestyle so if there is anybody out there that has gone through something similar, I'd love to hear from them.

Thanks for reading!

Rob
Old Aug 2nd 2004, 9:24 am
Forum Regular

anypan is an unknown quantity at this point
Default New Relationship

Hi Rob

Great that you'll be going to Melbourne to live start a new life.

However you do seem to be right about a few things regarding your new girlfriend if i were you i would contact either Alan Colett or Helen O'Hara at GoMatilda they are very helpful and friendly.

[email protected]