Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Australia
Reload this Page >

new to furom and thinking of moving to australia.

new to furom and thinking of moving to australia.

Old Aug 28th 2007, 6:33 pm
Just Joined

terrold is an unknown quantity at this point
Default new to furom and thinking of moving to australia.

hi all,

my name is terry and my partners name is rhonda and we ive in the isle of man at present which is very nice place to live but looking into moving to australia, we also have a 10 year old daughter. i am a bus driver at the moment and my partner works in banking. we are considering going to the expo in manchester in october. we are very new to the idea of moving to oz and there are loads of sites to look at that after a while you get a little lost.i used to work with a guy who moved to oz and had to put 100.000 oz dollers in the bank for a year, do you still have to do this? rhonda doesn't seem to have a problem with skills cus of the banking experience she has, but not sure if oz is crying out for bus drivers? also have my hgv class 1 if thats any good? was considering training in something else cus have had a few jobs in my time, so can turn my hand to most things. was just wondering if the expo is worth a look, also any advice from anybody about things you don't think of, if you get what i mean? also does anyone know anything about taking pets? we have a dog and a cat which we would hate to give up. i also read a post on here about a 457 visa? would that be an idea for me and my partner to look into? anyway anyone with any comments or ideas, or places to look for info would be appreciated. thanks to all reading this and hope everyone is well.

thanks terry
Old Aug 28th 2007, 6:41 pm
Account Closed

Scott will become famous soon enough
Default Re: new to furom and thinking of moving to australia.

Welcome Terry , a good place to start is here http://www.immi.gov.au/