Moving to NZ

Old Jun 29th 2004, 12:41 pm
Just Joined

sallyrtwt is an unknown quantity at this point
Talking Moving to NZ

Hi everyone,

Has anyone here moved from the UK to NZ? I'm starting to consider moving as an option, but I'd like to hear stories (successful and crap) of your move over there. It's still a possibility rather than a plan so I'm trying to find out as much as poss before setting anything in concrete.

Thanks!

Sally.
Old Jun 29th 2004, 9:41 pm
BE Enthusiast

WheelsOfSteel is on a distinguished road

JFDI
Old Jun 30th 2004, 8:21 am
Just Joined

Originally posted by WheelsOfSteel
JFDI

Sorry but what does JFDI mean? I'm very new to this.

Sally.
Old Jun 30th 2004, 8:38 am
BE Forum Addict

Kiwipaul is a splendid one to beholdKiwipaul is a splendid one to beholdKiwipaul is a splendid one to beholdKiwipaul is a splendid one to beholdKiwipaul is a splendid one to beholdKiwipaul is a splendid one to beholdKiwipaul is a splendid one to beholdKiwipaul is a splendid one to beholdKiwipaul is a splendid one to beholdKiwipaul is a splendid one to beholdKiwipaul is a splendid one to behold

Yes I moved to NZ (Auckland) about 12 years ago. I spent 7 years living on the North Shore (Glenfield) and really enjoyed it. The thing I liked best was the country was about the same size as UK and so it was relatively easy to get around, also the weather (temp wise anyway) wasn't that much different to UK weather but without the severe frosts in winter and foggy overcast days.

It's also a very green country and the people are very friendly (every second person on the Shore seemed to be a Brit). Work wise I did contract work in IT and I never had a problem finding another contract once one finished. As far as I'm concerned it was eaiser in Auckland than it is in Brisbane (but Brisbane pays better).

Also I found NZ had more of an English feel to it, whereas Oz is very American.