Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Australia
Reload this Page >

Midwife moving to Australia (I have questions)

Midwife moving to Australia (I have questions)

Old Sep 16th 2021, 7:19 pm
Just Joined

May_xoxo is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Midwife moving to Australia (I have questions)

I'm a traditional midwife looking to move to Australia. Where I'm from the term midwife doesn't have the same meaning in does in Australia or the UK. We aren't technically considered healthcare workers, we work outside the field. We use holistic practices to help women through labor, particularly home births.

My question is are traditional midwives a thing in Australia? I'm worried about the legal aspect as well as the social aspect. When I search for home births in Australia not much comes up. So I'm assuming it's not really thought for the majority of pregnant Australian women. Where I'm from it's becoming more and more popular to opt for a home birth instead of going to the hospital. Will I will even be able to find work there?
Old Sep 16th 2021, 9:54 pm
Forum Regular

okonumiyaki has a reputation beyond reputeokonumiyaki has a reputation beyond reputeokonumiyaki has a reputation beyond reputeokonumiyaki has a reputation beyond reputeokonumiyaki has a reputation beyond reputeokonumiyaki has a reputation beyond reputeokonumiyaki has a reputation beyond reputeokonumiyaki has a reputation beyond reputeokonumiyaki has a reputation beyond reputeokonumiyaki has a reputation beyond reputeokonumiyaki has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Midwife moving to Australia (I have questions)

Not so much - 97% of births are at hospital, only 0.3% at home. The rest are at 'birthing centres' (clinics)

According to here:

https://www.health.gov.au/health-top...s/in-australia

there are 6,500 midwives here, and 29,000 dual qualified nurses/ midwives. Midwives are very much considered healthcare workers, need a 3 year degree etc.