Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Australia
Reload this Page >

May have a chance to move to Australia....

May have a chance to move to Australia....

Old Dec 11th 2008, 2:30 pm
Just Joined

Dibsica is an unknown quantity at this point
Default May have a chance to move to Australia....

My husband has applied for an "exchange" within his company (which is based in the UK) to go and work for a branch in Australia for a couple of years. This is all in the very early stages so at the moment I have no information at all.

Having looked at the Department of Immigration website it seems likely that the visa he would need would be a 'Temporary Business Long Stay 457', does that sound right? I think that would enable me to work too (I am a midwife), what I am not clear about is if I would have to have a job to go to or whether I would have to start looking when we got there. I wouldn't want to go if I couldn't work so it is quite important at this early stage to try and sort this out.

Any thoughts or comments would be gratefully received.

Thanks

Dibsica
Old Dec 11th 2008, 6:45 pm
Going for a ride

furkew has a reputation beyond reputefurkew has a reputation beyond reputefurkew has a reputation beyond reputefurkew has a reputation beyond reputefurkew has a reputation beyond reputefurkew has a reputation beyond reputefurkew has a reputation beyond reputefurkew has a reputation beyond reputefurkew has a reputation beyond reputefurkew has a reputation beyond reputefurkew has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: May have a chance to move to Australia....

Originally Posted by Dibsica
My husband has applied for an "exchange" within his company (which is based in the UK) to go and work for a branch in Australia for a couple of years. This is all in the very early stages so at the moment I have no information at all.