Made Redundant

Old Jan 23rd 2006, 10:12 pm
BE Enthusiast

Neil S is just really niceNeil S is just really niceNeil S is just really niceNeil S is just really niceNeil S is just really niceNeil S is just really niceNeil S is just really niceNeil S is just really niceNeil S is just really niceNeil S is just really nice
Default Made Redundant

Got a shock yesterday. Went into work shortly after 7am after being on holidays in the latter half of last week. The boss was already in and he immediately called me into his office and said that he had 'got to let me go' due to the lack of work for me to do. I work in the soils testing business and must admit it's been really slack lately. The firm employs around 35 people, 20 of them in Mornington. Their profit margins are really small. What worries me is that I was the only one in the business to be made redundant and the boss made me clear my desk and be off the premises pretty smartish. He has promised to pay me 3 weeks and 1 day wages as a payout and he will also do me a reference. Why do I feel I have been sacked humanely though?

We have a rented house that we pay 300 dollars a week and we also have a 250 dollar a month Medibank health insurance policy, as well as my son's school fees coming up. Because we have been here less than 2 years I don't think that Centrelink can help either. Looks like a tent on the beach soon!
Old Jan 23rd 2006, 10:16 pm
Lost in BE Cyberspace

Wendy has a reputation beyond reputeWendy has a reputation beyond reputeWendy has a reputation beyond reputeWendy has a reputation beyond reputeWendy has a reputation beyond reputeWendy has a reputation beyond reputeWendy has a reputation beyond reputeWendy has a reputation beyond reputeWendy has a reputation beyond reputeWendy has a reputation beyond reputeWendy has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Made Redundant

Originally Posted by Neil S