Reload this Page >

Living the Dream

Living the Dream

Old Jul 26th 2009, 12:32 pm
Just Joined

banjax is an unknown quantity at this point
Question Living the Dream

Hi

Is anybody here living the dream? We wonder if there is a better life to be had outside of Northern Ireland. For the all the reasons that have been widely televised and for some that are not so obvious in the work place.

I work as an Network engineer and OH as a Podiatrist, we have a 2 year old daughter. We do not have a lot of family support to make us homesick.

We all enjoy outdoors activities and are seeking a rural and beach life but house prices and working culture here are still impossible. We would like to live near a medium sized city/town for access to schools, medical facilities and civilisation but ideally we would like to build a house in the long term.

Are you or is anybody you know living this dream in OZ, NZ or anywhere else?
Old Jul 26th 2009, 12:54 pm
Forum Regular

deedee_b will become famous soon enoughdeedee_b will become famous soon enough
Default Re: Living the Dream

Hi,

Oz is great. I lived in Johannesburg for a long time. South Africa is a beautiful country, but a very difficult place to live. Money is hard to make and doesn't go far.

London was easier to make money, but it was never quite enough to live comfortably. The houses are much smaller and more expensive, the city is very busy.

In Aus I live near the beach. Our units have a pool spa, gym and tennis courts. Great areas for walking, cycling and other outdoor activities. Great parks for kids with activities/climbing gyms/rec centres. Would not move in a hurry. At first I didnt really like it, so I went back to London after six weeks I realised what I was missing and moved back.

How you feel about where you are going, depends on where you have come from.

Best of luck with your decision.
Old Jul 26th 2009, 1:30 pm
BE Enthusiast