Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Australia
Reload this Page >

Live in Australia, Working for a UK company

Live in Australia, Working for a UK company

Old Aug 21st 2009, 5:30 am
Just Joined

daMuzza is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Live in Australia, Working for a UK company

Hello. I have a UK/Australia tax issue I'm hoping someone can guide me on.

I live in Australia but still work for my UK company as an employee (I work over the internet).
This arrangement has been fine for the last year as I was essentially on holiday in Australia but still officially a UK resident, and paid tax via PAYE.

My new visa has just come through very recently (Spouse visa) making me a temporary resident that has to pay Aus taxes. So now I need to rethink how this all works.

It seems to me that I might have to become self employed in Australia, and get my company to pay me as though I was a contractor, so I don't pay UK tax any more. That does mean I lose some of the job security of being a full time employee though.
Also... are Aus income taxes higher or lower than the UK, does anyone know? (i.e. am I going to lose out?) My wage is about 55k GBP, which at the current very poor exchange rate is about 110k AUD

Does anyone know of any accountants or legal tax advisers or anyone else that would be able to best give me advice on how to handle both the UK and Australian side of things here?
Or any other advice or pointers would be greatly appreciated!
Would I have any problems on the UK side if I just suddenly stopped paying taxes? Do I have to declare that I'm no longer a resident for example?

Thanks
Old Aug 21st 2009, 5:46 am
Forum Regular