British Expats

British Expats (https://britishexpats.com/forum/)
-   Australia (https://britishexpats.com/forum/australia-54/)
-   -   Lengthy Query ...Sorry (https://britishexpats.com/forum/australia-54/lengthy-query-sorry-105907/)

Richard S Dec 7th 2001 6:46 am

I have a wife and 2 young kids. We want to try and live in Australia. My wife is a nurse. We have been told by NSW nursing board that they will sponsor her for a temporary visa (valid for 4 years). Apparently I will then be able to enter as a dependent and be able to work. Is this true?

Assuming the above to be true, we intend to also persue a residency application. It seems straightforward that my wife will get in as a nurse - its on MODL and her points roughly add to 125. In my case though I work in IT, but more in the support world (less points). Does it make more sense to apply as a family member with our kids (is this what folk normally do).

As a further fly in the ointment - I had a work/holiday visa 12 years ago - I certainly worked for about 6 months for 1 company (dont recall this 3 month thing at all)- Is this going to scupper all our efforts?

Finally do most people seek the advice of a migration consultant, and are they pricey?

Sorry about all that, but I dont want to waste money on application for nothing.

Nobody Dec 7th 2001 10:43 am

Richard,

1. the 4 year visa is probably a subclass 457 visa

2. yes you can come on that and get permission to work

3. only ONE of you needs to pass the points test and there is nothing stopping your
wife from making an application for skilled migration after you all arrive. Once
one of you has passed the others "come along for the ride" on the visa

4. your previous visa blooper is not likely to cause a problem. To fail the character
test you need to have had the equivalent of 1 year's jail

5. I am a lawyer and migration agent - have a look at my web site
www.paulcutler.com.au . This question gets asked a lot on the newsgroup. To me