Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Australia
Reload this Page >

legal advice much needed - help!

legal advice much needed - help!

Old Jun 9th 2011, 12:32 am
Just Joined

chris111 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default legal advice much needed - help!

hi
i was working for a company under a 457 visa in australia and things went sour, i hated my job and decided to look for another as my profession is on the skills shortage list.
thinking i could change to another sponsor (which happens regularly im told) i was offered a job in a state away from my then current employer.

my employer at the time found out and threatened legal action against me for wanting to go to a competiton, they threatened my new sponsor making up a story that i was in breach of confidentiality etc. as such i lost my new sponsor.

having annual leave (holiday to the uk) booked long in advance i was put on suspension and my leave cancelled, i could not change my flights and arrangements and was sacked for not making myself available to a follow up meeting

i returned to oz 2 weeks later and resumed my search for a new sponsor - my ex employer contacted all the companies in my industry spreading that i was a risk and i owed them over $100,000 in damages.. none of which was true.

my partner and i ran out of money and had to leave the country before the dept of immigration threw us out. i had to sell both our cars taking a loss of over $27,000 and lost most of my savings supporting us and moving our possessions overseas

we gained employment in new zealand and whilst going through the visa process (in south africa) my ex employer found out. he contacted the NZ immigration in south africa and made up a huge pack of lies about my past, how i stole from them, how i owe them money and how i am a risk to new zealand. this i have in writing. they also names and shamed my girlfriend who had nothing to do with anything.