Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Australia
Reload this Page >

Just what is Mr Rudd up to?

Just what is Mr Rudd up to?

Old Dec 21st 2008, 1:31 am
Wol
Lost in BE Cyberspace

Wol has a reputation beyond reputeWol has a reputation beyond reputeWol has a reputation beyond reputeWol has a reputation beyond reputeWol has a reputation beyond reputeWol has a reputation beyond reputeWol has a reputation beyond reputeWol has a reputation beyond reputeWol has a reputation beyond reputeWol has a reputation beyond reputeWol has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Just what is Mr Rudd up to?

Fair enough. But the link given above leads to a Derek Kelly, a very outspoken sceptic. He promotes himself as a PhD - but as a software engineer I'm not certain that I would take his argument ahead of the scientists of the IPCC.

The trouble is, like conspiracy theories, all sorts of people get in on the act and the internet is a great place to put forward agendas. Who has the time and inclination to investigate the background and motives of anyone who puts forward arguments that on the surface look authorative? Yet time and time again it is revealed that the people involved are funded by anti-AGW industries, or have a dubious record of telling the whole story on other issues. (The Ch4 programme comes to mind.)

I think in an argument such as this, where none of us is really in a position to decide on an incredibly complex issue, you have to look at what the body of expert opinion is saying. There are lots of people who will point at this unknown or that inconsistency, and cut and paste various graphs and statistics and it's very easy to think that the IPCC has got it all wrong. But to follow through the provenance and veracity of the data, let alone sort out the wheat from the chaff, is more than most of us can do - me included.
Old Dec 21st 2008, 4:38 am
Lost in BE Cyberspace