Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Australia
Reload this Page >

IT jobs in Brisbane (or not?)

IT jobs in Brisbane (or not?)

Old Aug 18th 2004, 8:47 pm
Forum Regular

Location: Currently in Redmond, Washington, returning to Sydney 2013!!
SamG will become famous soon enough
Default IT jobs in Brisbane (or not?)

Hi all,

I work in IT, currently as a contract programmer for an investment bank in Canary Wharf. Most of my recent experience (last 5 years or so), has been as a contractor or technical lead in trading systems of one variety or another.

We're hoping to move to Brissie before the end of the year (visas pending etc) and I was wondering if there are any other IT people, - particularly programmers or system designers - on this forum who could provide some indication of prospects in the IT field in the Brisbane area, and also some indication of salary ranges. I don't care about whether the work is in the financial markets, or if I have to take a step down initially.

The reason I ask is that the various job forums (seek, careerone, jobnet etc) don't seem inundated with opportunities, and friends of mine who live and work in Sydney are advising to me to head there first. One of them even said that he'd move like a shot to Brisbane if he could get decent work, but doesn't believe he can.

If anyone wants to reply or send a private message, any information would be much appreciated.

Thanks

Nick (SamG's b/h)
Old Aug 18th 2004, 8:56 pm
ah-beng

spalen has a reputation beyond reputespalen has a reputation beyond reputespalen has a reputation beyond reputespalen has a reputation beyond reputespalen has a reputation beyond reputespalen has a reputation beyond reputespalen has a reputation beyond reputespalen has a reputation beyond reputespalen has a reputation beyond reputespalen has a reputation beyond reputespalen has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: IT jobs in Brisbane (or not?)

Hia