Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Australia
Reload this Page >

Importing Personal Books

Importing Personal Books

Old Apr 28th 2009, 6:50 pm
Forum Regular

ramlmmjem is on a distinguished road
Default Importing Personal Books

I'm an academic by trade and books are one of the tools I use. I need to get some key ones (probably a box or two's worth) to Adelaide for the point at which I start work and plan to ship them by air. These are personal items, but I'm concerned to make sure customs don't think I'm importing them to re-sell or some silly such thing. (I'll be sending them direct to myself at the University at which I'll be working.) Anything I need to look out for?

Alistair

(The rest of my books will come by sea along with the furniture.)
Old Apr 29th 2009, 12:20 am
BE Enthusiast

Flutterby has much to be proud ofFlutterby has much to be proud ofFlutterby has much to be proud ofFlutterby has much to be proud ofFlutterby has much to be proud ofFlutterby has much to be proud ofFlutterby has much to be proud ofFlutterby has much to be proud ofFlutterby has much to be proud ofFlutterby has much to be proud ofFlutterby has much to be proud of
Default Re: Importing Personal Books

As long as they are for personal use you should be fine. We sent 2 boxes of CDs over by air and had no problems with customs at all. We had to go to customs to clear them ourselves and so we could explain that they were not for resale.
Old Apr 29th 2009, 12:55 am
BE Forum Addict

Gems has a reputation beyond reputeGems has a reputation beyond reputeGems has a reputation beyond reputeGems has a reputation beyond reputeGems has a reputation beyond reputeGems has a reputation beyond reputeGems has a reputation beyond reputeGems has a reputation beyond reputeGems has a reputation beyond reputeGems has a reputation beyond reputeGems has a reputation beyond repute

I sent loads of boxes of books over. We are avid book readers and some for hubbies job.