Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Australia
Reload this Page >

Is Hubby Too Old

Is Hubby Too Old

Old Apr 4th 2004, 8:21 am
Just Joined

janbl is an unknown quantity at this point
Cool Is Hubby Too Old

Too old for what? I am a registered nurse, thinking of applying for a sponsorship visa, with a view to permanent residence. I will be main applicant, but my husband is 45yrs young. Does this affect my application. It would be a shame to leave him behind
Old Apr 4th 2004, 8:28 am
58.38264% - Extreme Geek

anya4oz is a name known to allanya4oz is a name known to allanya4oz is a name known to allanya4oz is a name known to allanya4oz is a name known to allanya4oz is a name known to allanya4oz is a name known to allanya4oz is a name known to allanya4oz is a name known to allanya4oz is a name known to allanya4oz is a name known to all
Default Re: Is Hubby Too Old

Originally posted by janbl
Too old for what? I am a registered nurse, thinking of applying for a sponsorship visa, with a view to permanent residence. I will be main applicant, but my husband is 45yrs young. Does this affect my application. It would be a shame to leave him behind
LOL! Though I'm sure you'd be able to pick up a hunky bronzed lifeguard when you get there

But seriously, it is no problem. As long as the main applicant (ie you) is under 45, and remains so, until after you've got those forms into DIMIA, should be fine. Unless you need his points for any reason - for example education/job exp - but I doubt, as a nurse, that you'd need them. Even if you are in a position where you have to invest a bond in order to qualify for the required # of points, you can still invest 'joint' money.

Good luck!

Anya.
Old Apr 4th 2004, 8:31 am
BE Enthusiast

dibrucewillis is an unknown quantity at this point

I wouldn't have thought so.
It is usually the main applicants details that are the most important.
I also am a registered nurse and applied under the skilled independant category last year.