Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Australia
Reload this Page >

Is a hol a 'good benchmark' of Oz?

Is a hol a 'good benchmark' of Oz?

Old Oct 10th 2005, 2:44 pm
Forum Regular

ChadW will become famous soon enough
Question Is a hol a 'good benchmark' of Oz?

Hello, newbie here, so please be gentle.

A trip of a lifetime has come up this year and am off on a pre-arranged tour of Oz in a couple of weeks time, it takes in Melbourne, Alice Springs, Uluru, Cairns and Sydney. Whilst in Sydeney I will be meeting my Mums uncle and his family.

Anyone else on here felt that their own holiday experience was enough to decide to go and live in Austrailia or do you really need to live there for at least a few months before such a decission can be made?

Not sure I would want to leave the UK permanently but sometimes I feel if I had the chance of making a new start, then I would seriously consider it.

Currently work as an IT Professional and could sell my flat to get any required equity into savings but I am not sure if I could make my mind up after spending a few days in the places above.

Finally for a rough idea of how much dosh I need to get changed into Aus $ then could anyone give me an idea on prices for below items pls?

Big Mac and Fries
Lager (can you get European brands down there, like Grolsch, Stella?)
Posh sandwich shop sandwhiches (if they exist)
Also do you have Fish and Chip shops?

Thanks in advance.

Chad

Last edited by ChadW; Oct 10th 2005 at 2:52 pm.
Old Oct 10th 2005, 2:59 pm
Ex BE ***** Addict

arkon has a reputation beyond reputearkon has a reputation beyond reputearkon has a reputation beyond reputearkon has a reputation beyond reputearkon has a reputation beyond reputearkon has a reputation beyond reputearkon has a reputation beyond reputearkon has a reputation beyond reputearkon has a reputation beyond reputearkon has a reputation beyond reputearkon has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Is a hol a 'good benchmark' of Oz?