Reload this Page >

Getting a job - Brisbane

Getting a job - Brisbane

Old Dec 7th 2004, 3:35 pm
Just Joined

RollingStone is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Getting a job - Brisbane

Anyone with any advice?

We are planning to move out to Brisbane by mid next year but have not finalised a date as yet.
How easy is it to get a job prior to moving out?
From other posts it seems that unless you are a nurse you need to wait until you are in Brisbane. I'm a Project Manager with more than 10 years of projects experience.

I have a list of alot of recruitment agencies in Bribane but don't want to waste my time if they will not even look at me until I'm in Oz.
Old Dec 7th 2004, 3:47 pm
you lookin at me?

Ghostface will become famous soon enough
Default Re: Getting a job - Brisbane

Originally Posted by RollingStone
Anyone with any advice?

We are planning to move out to Brisbane by mid next year but have not finalised a date as yet.
From other posts it seems that unless you are a nurse you need to wait until you are in Brisbane. I'm a Project Manager with more than 10 years of projects experience.

I have a list of alot of recruitment agencies in Bribane but don't want to waste my time if they will not even look at me until I'm in Oz.
Hi Rollingstone welcome to the forum, i have just been lucky enough to secure a job in Brisbane by working from the UK.

I have put below the steps i took to do this.

1) Went online & used the brisbane yellow pages to find all companies in my field (pump engineer to trade). If they had e mail address'es i e mailed them my CV and explained our circumstances.

2) I then explored all the companies i worked with back here (supplier's etc) to see if they had base's in Brisbane. Once i had done this i contacted the people i knew at the British company and asked them to e mail their counterpart in Brissy to see if they were looking for anyone.