Reload this Page >

General advice please on relocating family from UK to AUS

General advice please on relocating family from UK to AUS

Old Jul 4th 2022, 4:08 pm
Just Joined

In the middle is an unknown quantity at this point
Default General advice please on relocating family from UK to AUS

Hello fellow expats!

I am seeking some advice please on relocating from the UK to Australia with my partner and two children.

I am a qualified UK midwife and my partner is a construction project manager. Both of these professions show on the skilled worker lists for Aus and I was wondering about the process of obtaining a permanent residency visa.

So my questions are:

How long roughly does the application process take? Do we have to be sponsored by an employer to be able to move? Do you need a job in place before arriving?
Would it be easier to obtain visas if my partner and I were to marry or is this irrelevant?
Will our children just be added on to my visa if I obtained permanent residency? If so will they be able to attend state schools?

I'd also like to know what areas in Aus are better for families? My children will be 15 and 10.

Finally, how straight forward is property buying? I hear it's competitive and expensive. Do you recommend renting initially?

I'd love to also hear about your experience relocating your family. Was it the best decision? How did you find adjusting to the heat and culture? Any tips on how to make the transition easier on children?

I really appreciate your time and support!

Old Jul 4th 2022, 5:04 pm
Home and Happy

Location: Keep true friends and puppets close, trust no-one else...