Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Australia
Reload this Page >

Fears, Worries and Serious Doubts!!!!

Fears, Worries and Serious Doubts!!!!

Old Feb 3rd 2005, 12:19 pm
NAC
BE Enthusiast

NAC is a jewel in the roughNAC is a jewel in the roughNAC is a jewel in the roughNAC is a jewel in the rough
Default Fears, Worries and Serious Doubts!!!!

Well, don't know if this is pre-visa nerves hitting in or what but we are having some worries and doubts that I hope some of you can help with! Our main concerns are:
1. We are coming out on a skilled independent visa and hoping to settle around the North Brisbane/Sunshine Coast area. My husband will have a starting salary of around $44,000 which is less than he is earning in the UK. From what I have read the cost of living is not greatly less and we are concerned about what our quality of life will be. Is this salary enough to keep a family of 4? I am a nurse and will work part-time but don't want to be pushed into it because of finances. In the UK we live basically on my husband's salary and me working part-time helps pay for extras and treats etc. Would this be comparable to Australia?
2. Our 2nd concern is education. I had been very much under the impression that Australian education was of an equal if not higher standard to the UK. (Based on recent statistics and a friend who has spent a year working in Oz). However, I have recently heard from someone who felt it was appalling and literacy rates are infact very poor. We would very much appreciate any input from parents who have experienced both UK and Oz education. Are most schools of a similar standard or is there a vast difference? Is it worth paying for private education?