Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Australia
Reload this Page >

Family - your experiences

Family - your experiences

Old Sep 19th 2010, 10:26 am
Just Joined

TessaD is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Family - your experiences

Well we have pretty much decided to make the move to Sydney from the UK in Feb/March next year, but I would really like to hear your experiences of leaving family back in the UK.

And before you say it, I know that it's our decision I just thought it might be helpful to get an insight from others who have been in a similar position!

So, we are a family with 2 children of pre-school age. My husband has been offered a good job in Sydney (with a relocation package) and as a doctor I will be able to find work without a problem so financially I feel we will be able to afford the move and a similar lifestyle to here.

I won't bore you with all the details but essentially in every other area moving to Sydney is the right thing for our family and I am confident in all other areas that that is the case.

But the big one is family. My parents live about 250miles away from us but we do see them about once a month and I speak to them on the phone more or less every day. My mother has spoken to me today and has made it clear that they are not supportive and take this move as a specific rejection of them and of our relationship. She is normally a very stable person but I cannot overstate how dramatic she was in that conversation! She would not 'cut us off' or anything, but is basically stating that there is no going back from this decision. My husband's family live in Ireland, so we see them less, and also they are more supportive of the move. We have no family in Sydney as such, although my sister (who is single) is living there at the moment although I'd say she will only be out there for a couple of years. I was hoping to persuade my parents to move over too but I'm not sure if this will ever actually happen.