Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Australia
Reload this Page >

Family moving to Brisbane - worried about the cost of living

Family moving to Brisbane - worried about the cost of living

Old Sep 8th 2013, 9:57 pm
Just Joined

Lou n rob is an unknown quantity at this point
Smile Family moving to Brisbane - worried about the cost of living

Hi, my husband has got a one year teaching contract at a secondary school in Brisbane. His salary is $82,000. I will be looking for work when we arrive. I am a special needs teacher and hope to gain relief work at least! We have 2 young children. After reading many posts on here, some stating you need huge salaries to survive, I have become worried.
We have our e 457 visa and we will be arriving probably 26th December. Looking at short term accommodation rentals, everything just seems so expensive, is this because its the holiday season?

I was wondering if there is any advice, if other people have managed to survive on a teachers salary?

Any advice on suburbs that are reasonably priced but good for kids etc.

Thank you in advance.
Old Sep 8th 2013, 11:42 pm
Lost in BE Cyberspace

Bermudashorts has a reputation beyond reputeBermudashorts has a reputation beyond reputeBermudashorts has a reputation beyond reputeBermudashorts has a reputation beyond reputeBermudashorts has a reputation beyond reputeBermudashorts has a reputation beyond reputeBermudashorts has a reputation beyond reputeBermudashorts has a reputation beyond reputeBermudashorts has a reputation beyond reputeBermudashorts has a reputation beyond reputeBermudashorts has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Family moving to Brisbane - worried about the cost of living

Will yes holiday accommodation is always more expensive around Christmas the world over I think. Funny time to arrive, aren't the schools in middle of long summer holidays then? Perhaps you could put it off a bit if you are worried about short term accommodation costs.