Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Australia
Reload this Page >

European mobile phones in Oz

European mobile phones in Oz

Old Oct 22nd 2002, 1:26 pm
  #1  
Forum Regular
Thread Starter
 
mcaprio's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2002
Location: Paris
Posts: 72
mcaprio is an unknown quantity at this point
Default European mobile phones in Oz

Hi,

Do you know if our european mobiles, generally bi-band, can work in Oz, or do we have to bring tri-band mobiles ?

Cheers,
Myriam
mcaprio is offline  
Old Oct 22nd 2002, 3:59 pm
  #2  
Just Joined
 
Joined: Sep 2002
Location: Sydney, NSW
Posts: 23
Jonothan is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: European mobile phones in Oz

Originally posted by mcaprio:
Hi,

Do you know if our european mobiles, generally bi-band, can work in Oz, or do we have to bring tri-band mobiles ?

Cheers,
Myriam
Myriam

There are loads of threads on the site already for this. If you search the forum for 'GSM' or 'Mobile' you will find all the answers you need.

Cheers

Jonothan is offline  
Old Oct 22nd 2002, 8:10 pm
  #3  
BE Enthusiast
 
Snickers's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2002
Location: Flagstaff Hill Adelaide ex Manchester
Posts: 305
Snickers is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: European mobile phones in Oz

Originally posted by mcaprio:
Hi,

Do you know if our european mobiles, generally bi-band, can work in Oz, or do we have to bring tri-band mobiles ?

Cheers,
Myriam

Myriam, the quick answer is yes they will work, but some may have to be unblocked if they are network specific, in the UK this can be done for £10 or less.

Paul
Snickers is offline  
Old Oct 22nd 2002, 9:09 pm
  #4  
Karen
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: European mobile phones in Oz

Hi Myriam,

I took my Vodafone Nokia to Sydney earlier in the year and had no
problems. I did have to let Vodafone know that I was going to Oz, so
they could 'switch me on' for overseas use.

You shouldn't have any probs, but check with your service provider.

Have a great time in OZ!

Karen
 
Old Oct 22nd 2002, 9:21 pm
  #5  
Jaj
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: European mobile phones in Oz

    >On 22 Oct 2002 14:09:49 -0700, [email protected] (Karen) wrote:
    >Hi Myriam,
    >I took my Vodafone Nokia to Sydney earlier in the year and had no
    >problems. I did have to let Vodafone know that I was going to Oz, so
    >they could 'switch me on' for overseas use.

'Roaming' as you describe can be very expensive, even if you used
Vodafone Australia. You should get an Australian SIM card.

    >You shouldn't have any probs, but check with your service provider.

Most phones sold in the last few years in the UK are 'dual band' and
hence will work in Australia. Single band phones may not work if
they've been sold for the Orange, One 2 One (incl Virgin) networks.

You should get the special 'unlock' code from your manufacturer or
network. This allows you to put a SIM card from a different network
into the phone, and is a lot easier to sort out while still in the UK.


Some networks may charge for this, it depends on whether there was a
subsidy included when you bought the phone and how long you've owned
it for.

Jeremy
 
Old Oct 23rd 2002, 8:45 pm
  #6  
BE Enthusiast
 
ywoods's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2002
Location: London
Posts: 603
ywoods is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: European mobile phones in Oz

I bought my phone in Germany, was connected to D2, got it unlocked by the provider, took it home used it with an orange sim card. Bought my son a phone who was connected to Orange, got it unlocked we are both in Aus with an Optus sim card no problems at all

My sons was a Nokia and mine a Siemans

Very expensive to use roaming as Jeremy says as to make a phone call it will go via UK back to Aus and if someone calls you, they will pay the price of a call to the UK mobile number, and you will pay the price of UK to Aus on a mobile VERY PRICEY INDEED!!!!

Yvonne

Originally posted by Jaj:
    >On 22 Oct 2002 14:09:49 -0700, [email protected] (Karen) wrote:
    >Hi Myriam,
    >I took my Vodafone Nokia to Sydney earlier in the year and had no
    >problems. I did have to let Vodafone know that I was going to Oz, so
    >they could 'switch me on' for overseas use.

'Roaming' as you describe can be very expensive, even if you used
Vodafone Australia. You should get an Australian SIM card.

    >You shouldn't have any probs, but check with your service provider.

Most phones sold in the last few years in the UK are 'dual band' and
hence will work in Australia. Single band phones may not work if
they've been sold for the Orange, One 2 One (incl Virgin) networks.

You should get the special 'unlock' code from your manufacturer or
network. This allows you to put a SIM card from a different network
into the phone, and is a lot easier to sort out while still in the UK.


Some networks may charge for this, it depends on whether there was a
subsidy included when you bought the phone and how long you've owned
it for.

Jeremy
ywoods is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service

Copyright © 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.