Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Australia
Reload this Page >

Are Engineers really in demand??

Are Engineers really in demand??

Old Oct 30th 2007, 8:53 pm
Just Joined

drew is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Are Engineers really in demand??

Hi,

We are looking to head out to Australia next Easter. I am an Engineer and my Wife is a Teacher. At the moment we are considering Sydney, but have not ruled out Perth, or even Adelaide.

It appears from my research that most of the demands for Engineers are in the mining sector, particulary in Perth. Are the best opportunities for getting a job here? Are there good opportunities for Engineers in other states and fields of work?

I have a varied background but no direct experience in mining. I have served a four year mechanical craft apprenticeship as a machinist/fitter, have a BEng (Hons) degree in Mechanical/Manufacturing Engineering and am IEng registered. For the last 5 years I have been working as an engineer surveyor examining lifts and cranes. I would be really interested to hear from any other engineers who have made the move, and your experiences of finding suitable work. What would be a good wage for a qualified engineer?
Old Oct 30th 2007, 9:23 pm

biggy is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: Are Engineers really in demand??

Originally Posted by drew
Hi,

We are looking to head out to Australia next Easter. I am an Engineer and my Wife is a Teacher. At the moment we are considering Sydney, but have not ruled out Perth, or even Adelaide.

It appears from my research that most of the demands for Engineers are in the mining sector, particulary in Perth. Are the best opportunities for getting a job here? Are there good opportunities for Engineers in other states and fields of work?