British Expats

British Expats (https://britishexpats.com/forum/)
-   Australia (https://britishexpats.com/forum/australia-54/)
-   -   employment help (https://britishexpats.com/forum/australia-54/employment-help-277941/)

brett Jan 16th 2005 6:52 pm

employment help

Hi, i am a gas engineer working for British Gas in the UK and am hoping to immigrate to melbourne and would like to know of any information anyone who works in the plumbing/gasfitter area could pass on as regards to registering and employment upon arrival.
Thanks
Brett :)

Bordy Jan 17th 2005 3:22 am

Re: employment help

Originally Posted by brett
Hi, i am a gas engineer working for British Gas in the UK and am hoping to immigrate to melbourne and would like to know of any information anyone who works in the plumbing/gasfitter area could pass on as regards to registering and employment upon arrival.
Thanks

Not sure if it will help Brett but have a read at this.

http://www.ocba.sa.gov.au/licensing/...ndly=printable

Jessie James Jan 17th 2005 4:14 am

Re: employment help

Originally Posted by brett
Thanks

Hi Brett,

Have a look at www.pic.vic.gov.au - you will have to have registration or provisional registration in the categories you want to work in before being employed.

The provisional registration is where previous plumbing skills are recognised but you still take Australian exams. What happened in my partner's case (he's a plumber) is that he got forms to apply for registration from the Plumbing Industry Commission (www.pic.vic.gov.au). He then sent the forms and originals of his trade certificates to them and they decided to grant the provisional registration and also which categories to grant it in.