Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Australia
Reload this Page >

electrical equipment in oz

electrical equipment in oz

Old Feb 11th 2002, 8:13 pm
  #1  
Just Joined
Thread Starter
 
Joined: Oct 2001
Posts: 25
piglet will become famous soon enough
Default

hi can anyone help please I have a playstation 2 and some other equipment that i want to take with me to oz but wonder if it is worth it. will it work there or not any help would be appreciated. still waiting on my visa but hopeful that it will be this part of the year!!!!
thanks
piglet is offline  
Old Feb 12th 2002, 6:35 pm
  #2  
Devo
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

regarding the playstation- Sony have gaming regions and those games sold in Oz will
not work on a PS2 made for the European market.

    >
    >
    >
    >
    >
    >
 
Old Feb 13th 2002, 10:40 pm
  #3  
Just Joined
Thread Starter
 
Joined: Oct 2001
Posts: 25
piglet will become famous soon enough
Default

thanks it isn't worth taking then. what about tv's and stereo do you think it is worth the shipping cost or not. i haven't looked into shipping yet i guess that is the next step
piglet is offline  
Old Feb 17th 2002, 10:05 am
  #4  
Guy Van Den Ber
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: electrical equipment in oz

Hey all,

FYI I've got a UK PS/PS2/Dreamcast/N64 plus a video and HK dvd player all work no
probs with TV from aus.

I also brought over stereo and home cinema stuff cause it costs a fortune over here
once your earning aus $!!!

I haven't looked into using region change software for the PS2 so I can buy games
here yet...should be no prob though. Also just seen PS2 for $500 so you can always
get another one here cheaply...anyway the xbox is available next month!

g.

"piglet" <[email protected]> wrote in message
news:[email protected]...
    > thanks it isn't worth taking then. what about tv's and stereo do you think it is
    > worth the shipping cost or not. i haven't looked into shipping yet i guess that is
    > the next step
    >
    >
    > --
    > Sent via BritishExpats Forums: http://britishexpats.com
 
Old Feb 17th 2002, 3:18 pm
  #5  
Forum Regular
 
Joined: Dec 2001
Posts: 83
colin.helen is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

I found an excellent web site regarding moving costs. It lets you do a quote on line. www.johnmason.com. I don't know if they are any good or if the prices are reasonable but it was good fun!

Helen and Colin
colin.helen is offline  
Old Feb 17th 2002, 11:27 pm
  #6  
Forum Regular
 
Joined: Feb 2002
Posts: 127
lmaynard is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: electrical equipment in oz

The PS2 will work fine in Australia as the Sony game region is only PAL or NTSC and as Australia is PAL.....

The only region restrictions will be if you are using the PS2 for DVDs - Australia is region 4 and the UK region 2. You can, however, buy a piece of software for the PS2 called Region X which will multi-zone your PS2.

TVs will not work as the PAL is a different 'flavour' so the picture will work fine but you won't get any sound.

Likewise with videos although playback of recorded videos will work fine.
lmaynard is offline  
Old Feb 18th 2002, 1:45 pm
  #7  
Shongololo
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: electrical equipment in oz

How about a Sony DVD player and DVD's from Canada?

"piglet" <[email protected]> wrote in message
news:[email protected]...
    > hi can anyone help please I have a playstation 2 and some other equipment that i
    > want to take with me to oz but wonder if it is worth
    > it. will it work there or not any help would be appreciated. still waiting on my
    > visa but hopeful that it will be this part of the year!!!! thanks
    >
    > --
    > Sent via BritishExpats Forums: http://britishexpats.com
 
Old Feb 18th 2002, 6:09 pm
  #8  
Forum Regular
 
Joined: Feb 2002
Posts: 127
lmaynard is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: electrical equipment in oz

Unless the DVD player is zone 4 it will not play DVDs bought in NZ (or Australia). Sony tend not to make multi zone DVD players...

I suspect that the format of Canadian DVDs may be NTSC (I'm not sure though) but most new TVs in NZ and Australia are capable of playing NTSC (60hz)
lmaynard is offline  
Old Feb 18th 2002, 6:17 pm
  #9  
BE Enthusiast
 
MrFlibbleUK's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2002
Location: Brissie
Posts: 689
MrFlibbleUK is a jewel in the roughMrFlibbleUK is a jewel in the roughMrFlibbleUK is a jewel in the roughMrFlibbleUK is a jewel in the roughMrFlibbleUK is a jewel in the rough
Default Re: electrical equipment in oz

If you look on www.techtronics.com you can get your DVD player chipped so that it works with any region...costs about £80....erm....allegedly.
MrFlibbleUK is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service

Copyright © 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.