Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Australia
Reload this Page >

desparately confused and needing advice

desparately confused and needing advice

Old Sep 24th 2003, 3:22 pm
Just Joined

nicky s is an unknown quantity at this point
Default desparately confused and needing advice

I`m new to this site and stumbled across it by accident today. I am from U.K but have been living in Sydney for 8 years now, originally on 1 year working visa but fell so in love with the place that I stayed. I am a nurse and got residency and citizenship easily. I`ve been through all the hardships of leaving family etc..my Mum has only just accepted me living in Sydney. I visit every year to see family.
My Mum has recently been diagnosed with dementia. She isn`t alone, is with my step-father and she is still working at present, the illness is in very early stages. I have had a very hard time dealing with this and the guilt i feel is huge because I live so far away. I have not considered moving back to the U.K before as i love my life in Sydney, i am also an only child. I am visiting the u.k at the moment and am so confused. It`s nice weather here and i keep thinking that maybe I could make a go of things here but I have no idea what it`s like to live here anymore. It could be the worst thing I ever do and i`m probably forgetting the reasons why i left in the 1st place...i just don`t know what to do. I love Oz but am torn now with family issues. I do know though that i have a right to a life of my own..i`m so confused.
Any advice...? What is it like living in the U.K now?
Nicky
Old Sep 24th 2003, 3:29 pm
BE Enthusiast

lynnj has a brilliant futurelynnj has a brilliant futurelynnj has a brilliant futurelynnj has a brilliant futurelynnj has a brilliant futurelynnj has a brilliant future

Nicky