Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Australia
Reload this Page >

Desktop PC to Oz

Desktop PC to Oz

Old Oct 16th 2006, 6:46 pm
  #1  
BE Enthusiast
Thread Starter
 
Wigan Warrior's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2004
Location: Point Cook/Melbourne/VIC
Posts: 321
Wigan Warrior is just really niceWigan Warrior is just really niceWigan Warrior is just really niceWigan Warrior is just really niceWigan Warrior is just really niceWigan Warrior is just really niceWigan Warrior is just really niceWigan Warrior is just really niceWigan Warrior is just really nice
Default Desktop PC to Oz

Hi,

Did anyone take their desktop PC with them to Oz?

Is it as simple as getting new power leads or is it more complicated than that?

I've got a lot of things on my PC and would prefer to take it with me if possible (subject to cost!), but am wondering it would be easier to simply sell it and get a laptop, transferring everything across before hand.

If anyone has taken a desktop with them, did you chuck it in your container or send it separately?

Cheers,
WW
Wigan Warrior is offline  
Old Oct 16th 2006, 7:13 pm
  #2  
Visa granted member
 
Joined: Feb 2006
Location: Scarborough, Perth.
Posts: 177
Marcopolo is a name known to allMarcopolo is a name known to allMarcopolo is a name known to allMarcopolo is a name known to allMarcopolo is a name known to allMarcopolo is a name known to allMarcopolo is a name known to allMarcopolo is a name known to allMarcopolo is a name known to allMarcopolo is a name known to allMarcopolo is a name known to all
Default Re: Desktop PC to Oz

I'm not sure how easy this is, but I was going to put everything I have onto my 2nd hard drive and link it up with a new one over there.

Marc.
Marcopolo is offline  
Old Oct 16th 2006, 7:39 pm
  #3  
Member
 
Simba's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2006
Location: Gold Coast, Qld
Posts: 1,074
Simba is a glorious beacon of lightSimba is a glorious beacon of lightSimba is a glorious beacon of lightSimba is a glorious beacon of lightSimba is a glorious beacon of lightSimba is a glorious beacon of lightSimba is a glorious beacon of lightSimba is a glorious beacon of lightSimba is a glorious beacon of lightSimba is a glorious beacon of lightSimba is a glorious beacon of light
Default Re: Desktop PC to Oz

We have just scrapped our old Desk top PC and bought a laptop I can take that as hand luggage and start using it straight away when we get out there.
If you ship your desk top PC it will be in a container for about 12 weeks, depends what you use it for but can you manage without it for that long, after all how will you be able to chat on BE.
If you do decide to take your desk PC I think it will work fine as you said just change the plugs.
Simba is offline  
Old Oct 16th 2006, 8:04 pm
  #4  
Forum Regular
 
simpy's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2006
Location: Berwick, Victoria
Posts: 180
simpy has much to be proud ofsimpy has much to be proud ofsimpy has much to be proud ofsimpy has much to be proud ofsimpy has much to be proud ofsimpy has much to be proud ofsimpy has much to be proud ofsimpy has much to be proud ofsimpy has much to be proud ofsimpy has much to be proud ofsimpy has much to be proud of
Default Re: Desktop PC to Oz

Yeah, just change plugs.
But get a laptop as well for reasons stated by OP
simpy is offline  
Old Oct 16th 2006, 8:10 pm
  #5  
BE Forum Addict
 
Joined: Nov 2005
Location: Wigan > Perth > Wigan
Posts: 1,233
wafc has a reputation beyond reputewafc has a reputation beyond reputewafc has a reputation beyond reputewafc has a reputation beyond reputewafc has a reputation beyond reputewafc has a reputation beyond reputewafc has a reputation beyond reputewafc has a reputation beyond reputewafc has a reputation beyond reputewafc has a reputation beyond reputewafc has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Desktop PC to Oz

Originally Posted by Wigan Warrior
Hi,

Did anyone take their desktop PC with them to Oz?

Is it as simple as getting new power leads or is it more complicated than that?

I've got a lot of things on my PC and would prefer to take it with me if possible (subject to cost!), but am wondering it would be easier to simply sell it and get a laptop, transferring everything across before hand.

If anyone has taken a desktop with them, did you chuck it in your container or send it separately?

Cheers,
WW
Another pie eater going to Oz!! It seems like all the wiganers are getting out, me included!!

I will be sticking the Desktop PC in the container, will just get Oz plug adaptors or new leads when I get there. I've put all the important stuff that I need on to dvd's and those will be going with me in my case/hand luggage.

You can use the pc's in the libraries over there free of charge so thats what I'll be doing until the pc arrives and I can get it hooked up.
wafc is offline  
Old Oct 16th 2006, 8:17 pm
  #6  
paradise in the redlands
 
neil.b's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2003
Location: Redland Bay, QLD
Posts: 420
neil.b is just really niceneil.b is just really niceneil.b is just really niceneil.b is just really niceneil.b is just really niceneil.b is just really niceneil.b is just really niceneil.b is just really niceneil.b is just really niceneil.b is just really niceneil.b is just really nice
Default Re: Desktop PC to Oz

Originally Posted by wafc
Another pie eater going to Oz!! It seems like all the wiganers are getting out, me included!!

I will be sticking the Desktop PC in the container, will just get Oz plug adaptors or new leads when I get there. I've put all the important stuff that I need on to dvd's and those will be going with me in my case/hand luggage.

You can use the pc's in the libraries over there free of charge so thats what I'll be doing until the pc arrives and I can get it hooked up.
Just a word of advice, take your hard drive out and take it as hand luggage. These things don't travel too well and you could end up losing inportant data.

Neil.
neil.b is offline  
Old Oct 16th 2006, 8:26 pm
  #7  
Forum Regular
 
Joined: Jan 2005
Location: ex-Lancashire, ex-Northern suburbs, Perth WA, now Switzerland
Posts: 126
cyclemark has a spectacular aura aboutcyclemark has a spectacular aura aboutcyclemark has a spectacular aura about
Default Re: Desktop PC to Oz

Originally Posted by neil.b
Just a word of advice, take your hard drive out and take it as hand luggage. These things don't travel too well and you could end up losing inportant data.

Neil.
Well mine has been shipped from UK to Australia and back to Switzerland and has been fine. But I did have anything important backed up to cd/dvd/internet, no way I'd let the disc go without having backups.
cyclemark is offline  
Old Oct 16th 2006, 8:45 pm
  #8  
BE Forum Addict
 
Joined: Nov 2005
Location: Wigan > Perth > Wigan
Posts: 1,233
wafc has a reputation beyond reputewafc has a reputation beyond reputewafc has a reputation beyond reputewafc has a reputation beyond reputewafc has a reputation beyond reputewafc has a reputation beyond reputewafc has a reputation beyond reputewafc has a reputation beyond reputewafc has a reputation beyond reputewafc has a reputation beyond reputewafc has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Desktop PC to Oz

Originally Posted by neil.b
Just a word of advice, take your hard drive out and take it as hand luggage. These things don't travel too well and you could end up losing inportant data.

Neil.
Thats a good point though, I may well do that.
wafc is offline  
Old Oct 16th 2006, 9:06 pm
  #9  
paradise in the redlands
 
neil.b's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2003
Location: Redland Bay, QLD
Posts: 420
neil.b is just really niceneil.b is just really niceneil.b is just really niceneil.b is just really niceneil.b is just really niceneil.b is just really niceneil.b is just really niceneil.b is just really niceneil.b is just really niceneil.b is just really niceneil.b is just really nice
Default Re: Desktop PC to Oz

Originally Posted by cyclemark
Well mine has been shipped from UK to Australia and back to Switzerland and has been fine. But I did have anything important backed up to cd/dvd/internet, no way I'd let the disc go without having backups.
You did well, I moved house here and lost everthing on one of the kids computers.

Neil.
neil.b is offline  
Old Oct 17th 2006, 1:53 am
  #10  
Forum Regular
 
Joined: Jul 2005
Location: Mudgeeraba, GC
Posts: 230
nik04 has a brilliant futurenik04 has a brilliant futurenik04 has a brilliant futurenik04 has a brilliant futurenik04 has a brilliant futurenik04 has a brilliant futurenik04 has a brilliant future
Default Re: Desktop PC to Oz

Originally Posted by Wigan Warrior
Hi,

Did anyone take their desktop PC with them to Oz?

Is it as simple as getting new power leads or is it more complicated than that?

I've got a lot of things on my PC and would prefer to take it with me if possible (subject to cost!), but am wondering it would be easier to simply sell it and get a laptop, transferring everything across before hand.

If anyone has taken a desktop with them, did you chuck it in your container or send it separately?

Cheers,
WW
I shipped my pc 12months ago and no problems, i bought a portable hdd and backed up all my data and took it on the plane with me .Power leads are easy to come by, just shop around because the prices vary wildly. I bought mine in "crazy clarkes" for $2.50 (elcheapo shop).
nik04 is offline  
Old Oct 17th 2006, 2:58 am
  #11  
BE Forum Addict
 
ohippy's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2004
Location: Halls Head, WA
Posts: 4,146
ohippy has a reputation beyond reputeohippy has a reputation beyond reputeohippy has a reputation beyond reputeohippy has a reputation beyond reputeohippy has a reputation beyond reputeohippy has a reputation beyond reputeohippy has a reputation beyond reputeohippy has a reputation beyond reputeohippy has a reputation beyond reputeohippy has a reputation beyond reputeohippy has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Desktop PC to Oz

Originally Posted by wafc
Another pie eater going to Oz!! It seems like all the wiganers are getting out, me included!!

I will be sticking the Desktop PC in the container, will just get Oz plug adaptors or new leads when I get there. I've put all the important stuff that I need on to dvd's and those will be going with me in my case/hand luggage.

You can use the pc's in the libraries over there free of charge so thats what I'll be doing until the pc arrives and I can get it hooked up.
The library pc's here aren't free. You have to put dollars into the machine and queue up with all the other people who have left the UK and want to us them which isn't fun if you have kids with you I can tell you.

We shipped PC, all plugs got into my surger protector which I then changed to an Oz plug. You just need to change the internet lead wire or get a connector if you can find one.
ohippy is offline  
Old Oct 17th 2006, 9:55 am
  #12  
Freedom!
 
Jockstar's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2004
Location: At home in Sydney. Ye!!!!
Posts: 1,697
Jockstar has a reputation beyond reputeJockstar has a reputation beyond reputeJockstar has a reputation beyond reputeJockstar has a reputation beyond reputeJockstar has a reputation beyond reputeJockstar has a reputation beyond reputeJockstar has a reputation beyond reputeJockstar has a reputation beyond reputeJockstar has a reputation beyond reputeJockstar has a reputation beyond reputeJockstar has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Desktop PC to Oz

I sent 7 boxes that included my desktop via DHL from Bangkok. Cost me 26000 baht(around 300 odd quid) Why not take it by plane with you or send courier?
Jockstar is offline  
Old Oct 17th 2006, 10:04 am
  #13  
 
Joined: Sep 2006
Posts: 945
RooksieJ is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: Desktop PC to Oz

Originally Posted by Wigan Warrior
Hi,

Did anyone take their desktop PC with them to Oz?

Is it as simple as getting new power leads or is it more complicated than that?

I've got a lot of things on my PC and would prefer to take it with me if possible (subject to cost!), but am wondering it would be easier to simply sell it and get a laptop, transferring everything across before hand.

If anyone has taken a desktop with them, did you chuck it in your container or send it separately?

Cheers,
WW
wish i could answer that one because we took ours on container but we brought it back again before it had chance to see daylight
RooksieJ is offline  
Old Oct 17th 2006, 10:52 am
  #14  
Forum Regular
 
Jayniebabes's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2005
Location: Dianella, Perth, WA
Posts: 104
Jayniebabes has a brilliant futureJayniebabes has a brilliant futureJayniebabes has a brilliant futureJayniebabes has a brilliant futureJayniebabes has a brilliant futureJayniebabes has a brilliant futureJayniebabes has a brilliant future
Default Re: Desktop PC to Oz

brought our pc with us and all we use is an adapter to the wall - works perfectly

J



Originally Posted by Wigan Warrior
Hi,

Did anyone take their desktop PC with them to Oz?

Is it as simple as getting new power leads or is it more complicated than that?

I've got a lot of things on my PC and would prefer to take it with me if possible (subject to cost!), but am wondering it would be easier to simply sell it and get a laptop, transferring everything across before hand.

If anyone has taken a desktop with them, did you chuck it in your container or send it separately?

Cheers,
WW
Jayniebabes is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.